Market research and advertising - BCOM 314 - Business Communication

Search strategies

Market-share information can be difficult to find for some industries. Here are some places to start your search.

In databases such as Business Source Ultimate, try some of these search techniques to help focus your search:

Company name AND (sales OR "market share")
Industry name AND (sales OR "market share")
Industry name AND ranking*

Market and consumer behavior research

American Satisfaction Consumer Index
The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
BizMiner produces the most granular industry statistical reports in the market. The database provides industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Our market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Note: Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.

Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS.gov)
Data is collected by the U.S. Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics through an Interview Survey and Diary Survey.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Create lists of consumers by geographic and demographic characteristics.
Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.

Market Share Reporter
Market Share Reporter is available in the Gale Business: Insights database, and features market share reports for brand-name products and companies. Use the "Search Within" option on the right-side of the search results to search by company, brand name, keyword, or NAICS code. Market share is shown as a percent of total industry or product sales for a specific period.

MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Reports from several market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing and other markets and industries.
Mintel Academic Market Research This link opens in a new window
Under Category, choose your industry or sector. (You can choose multiple if needed). Then, use the Content Types results filter to find Reports. Mostly US markets. Limited new coverage of select UK, Canada and Latin American markets. Other international coverage is primarily pre-pandemic (2019 and older) travel and tourism reports. To view table of contents and download options in reports, create a login with your UA email address.

Pew Research Center
Browse datasets and surveys, including Roper iPoll surveys, religious landscapes, political typology, and more.

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Explore data and research under the Market Analysis section, such as Emerging Spaces and Market Size Estimates. Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database. For problems logging into an existing account, visit arizona.pitchbook.com, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password. Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles on the psychology and behavior of consumers. Try combining subject terms such as Marketing, Advertising, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Attitudes, Online Social Networks, or Mass Media.
Tutorial
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors. Check out the Insights tab for Market and Consumer Insights.
WGSN Fashion Trend Forecasting & Analysis This link opens in a new window
WGSN's comprehensive research and analysis service provides for every stage of the product development life cycle. Trends are tracked and analysed from their earliest emergence right through to the products driving retail and e-tail today.

Survey data

These resources provide survey data on consumer behavior and preferences, including demographics, lifestyles, opinions, shopping habits, and more. Pay attention to the survey source (who created, disseminated, and analyzed the survey), survey collection dates, sample size, and sample demographics (e.g., adults aged 18 to 24 in the United States, adults aged 18+ who own a car, etc.).

Consider what kind of data you need. Some databases allow you to create crosstabs to better combine certain questions, answers, and demographics to tell a story.

Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Go to Consumers tab.
Mintel Academic Market Research This link opens in a new window
For consumer behavior and market reports, stay on the main page (Insights: Expert Analysis) and use the search bar and filters found midway down the page. For survey data, click on the "Analytics: Consumer Data" tab at the top of the page. Use filters to narrow the scope of the survey (e.g., travel). Open a survey to view specific questions. Use the menu on the left to navigate to survey demographics and pre-created crosstabs.
MRI Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Simmons OneView is the primary platform for providing marketers with access to the entire Experian Simmons product suite. Simmons OneView combines the trusted syndicated and custom research from Experian Simmons with powerful analytic tools and reports to provide marketers with vivid consumer insights via an intuitive online platform.
NOTE: Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Go to the Insights tab to access Consumer Insights. This module lets you analyze survey questions and demographics by creating cross tabs. Great for narrowing down your target market.

Advertising tools

WARC.com This link opens in a new window
New! WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) is a database primarily focusing on reviewing marketing campaigns and efforts. It contains marketing analyses, case studies, marketing strategy training, video content, and award information.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
In addition to data on companies (ad spend, media types, brands) and advertising agencies, explore the Creative Library (off the main menu) to search an archive of brand and public ads in a variety of formats.
SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new window
Useful tool for building a marketing mix strategy. Find ad rates for more than 100,000 U.S. and international media outlets (direct marketing, websites, newspapers, etc.). Try searching for a media outlet (e.g. Arizona Daily Star) to view the details on subscription counts and ad rates. You can also browse for media based on parameters. The DEI tab allows you to filter by target audience to better reach marginalized or underrepresented populations.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Data Axle Reference Solutions can help users create marketing plans, calculate market size, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds. It also acts as a directory for businesses and consumers.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

BCOM 314 - Business Communication

Search strategies

Market and consumer behavior research

Survey data

Advertising tools

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

BCOM 314 - Business Communication

Search strategies

Market and consumer behavior research

Survey data

Advertising tools

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect