Industry research - BCOM 314 - Business Communication - LibGuides at University of Arizona

Industry Classification Codes

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used to describe and delineate U.S. industries by sector in order to gather, analyze and report industry statistics.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) search (.gov)

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Manual 2022
Publication Date: 2022
PDF version of NAICS structure. For interactive search, use the Census site above.

NAICS (pronounced "nakes") is used by federal agencies (Bureau of Census, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Securities and Exchange Commission, etc.) as well as publishers and analysts reporting on industries.

Industry codes are useful to know when researching a specific industry, market, or company and can be used in databases as a replacement for or in addition to keywords.

An industry can have more than one NAICS code. The longer the code, the more specific it is. For example:

72 — Accommodation and food services
722 — Food services and drinking places
7225 — Restaurants and other eating place
722513 — Fast-food restaurants

NAICS categories don't distinguish between small and large business, or between for-profit and non-profit.

While NAICS is recognized by US, Mexico, and Canada, it is not a global classification system. Other national and international systems exist, such as SIC (also US), SIC (UK - distinct from US SIC), NACE (EU), and ISIC (maintained by the UN and is the closest to a global international standard).

Industry research databases

Great places to start

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Find or select your industry, geography/market (US; state and local levels vary), and firm size (for financial module).
Use the Industry Financial module for financial highlights: industry ratios, income statement, balance sheet, valuation multiples, etc. Use the Industry Market module for market share, volume, penetration, demographics, and trends, plus data on startups, cessation rates, sales classes, and ownership trends. Note: If prompted, click on "Academic Library Detected..." above login fields to enter the site.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
On the right side of the main ribbon, click on Browse, then Industries. Navigate and expand the NAICS structure to locate your industry's profile page, where you can find links to relevant research reports, company profiles, and news.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
For industry reports, search with keywords and/or NAICS codes (5-6 digits; consider adding * at end of 2-4 digit codes to get results). Use the Source Type filter to select Industry Profiles. For news, try a keyword search without the Source Type filter.
Frost & Sullivan Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Research and trends for industrial markets, including aerospace, automotive, energy, medical devices, technology, etc. Use filters to narrow by industry, region, and publication year. Provides global and country-specific markets, so pay attention to the geographical focus of each report.
IbisWorld This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of industry research from the United States, with limited coverage of Mexico and Canada. Search by keywords or NAICS code.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Reports from several market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing and other markets and industries.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Scroll past the search box and click on the First Research portal. Search by industry NAICS code/keyword, or click on Browse Report Categories to find the industry research by sector.
Mintel Academic Market Research This link opens in a new window
Find market research reports on consumer products, services, and lifestyles. Under Category, choose your industry or sector. (Choose multiple if needed). Then use the Content Types results filter to select Reports. Mostly US markets with limited new coverage of select UK, Canada and Latin American markets.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Select Browse Research from the main ribbon. Under Value Line Featured Lists in the middle of the page, find the Industry Screens drop-down menu and select your industry. Click on the Industry Analysis link at the top right, or on any PDF icon under the Industry Analysis column on this page. These analyses are less in-depth than other reports, but are frequently updated.

Advanced Tools

Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.
WGSN Fashion Trend Forecasting & Analysis This link opens in a new window
WGSN's comprehensive research and analysis service provides for every stage of the product development life cycle. Trends are tracked and analysed from their earliest emergence right through to the products driving retail and e-tail today.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

BCOM 314 - Business Communication

Industry Classification Codes

Industry research databases

Great places to start

Advanced Tools

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

BCOM 314 - Business Communication

Industry Classification Codes

Industry research databases

Great places to start

Advanced Tools

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect