Use your textbook to guide you through these pieces of the assignment.
You can also use Google or a similar search engine to find businesses that are similar to your own to identify their mission statements and learn more about their organization. Look for pages on their websites that focus on About Us, Our Values, Our Mission, etc. If the company is public, google for the "investor relations" version of the company website to find even more information like this.
Additionally, explore the books and resources below to learn more about:
Canvanizer offers a free tool for creating a Business Plan Canvas.
Business Model Generation
Approaching Business Models from an Economic Perspective
Business Model Design and Learning: A Strategic Guide
Business Model Innovation: The Organizational Dimension
The Business Model Innovation Factory
Business Model Pioneers: How Innovators Successfully Implement New Business Models
Business Models and Strategic Management
Make Your Mission Statement Work
This guide demonstrates how to write an organizational mission statement that really describes the values of the organization, and how to make sure that the values expressed are seen to affect every aspect of the work of the business or organization.
Management by Missions
by
A few decades ago, management thinking started to embrace the idea of purpose. The first edition of this book marked an important step in this trajectory; it drew attention to the need for managers to relate the concepts of 'purpose' and 'missions' to strategy, culture and leadership. In the years since, purpose and missions have become business imperatives - not only in terms of remaining competitive but as core in the attempts to have a sustainable impact on the world. The second edition of Management by Missions is an open access book based on substantially more research carried out over fifteen years, involving more than 200 organizations around the world. All of this research supports that the practical models and ideas offered in the book have been tried and tested and actually work in practice. With case studies, anecdote and new research findings, the authors present the main tools of the MBM method (shared missions, missions scorecards, interdependency matrix, missions-based objectives and integral assessment) and the type of leadership needed to implement it. The ideas presented in this book mark a path towards a new management methodology for the XXI century and a new way of understanding the work that managers do.
Mission Statements: A Guide to the Corporate and Nonprofit Sectors
Mission Statements: A Guide to the Corporate and Nonprofit Sectors offers the most exciting opportunities for advancing the study of organization direction in the four decades that it has been actively pursued. The study of missions of organizations has remained on the "back burner" of scholarly pursuits because of the great difficulty that researchers have faced in gathering appropriate formal statements from corporations and nonprofit organizations. As a result, the importance of missions to distinguish among organizations and to guide the development and execution of implementing strategies has become a nearly universally endorsed but unenthusiastically practiced element in organizational planning activities.
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing
Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports - Proposals - Business plans - Presentations - Press releases - Memos - Email - Newsletters - Collection Letters - Sales materials - And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to finalreview and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating cliches, and much more. "
Gale's Business Plans Handbooks are a great resource since they cover a wide range of business types. See sample marketing plans, profit and loss forecasts, capital spending plans, and risk analyses.
The Pima County Public Library (PCPL) subscribes to the most recent Business Plans Handbooks, but online access requires a PCPL card. To get a library card, apply online (for access to e-resources only) or visit any PCPL branch with your photo ID and current address (the Joel D. Valdez Main Library and Himmel Park Library are closest to the UA campus).
Note: If you can't get a public library card, try browsing older editions of Business Plans Handbooks in the UA Libraries' Gale eBooks database.
Business Planning for New Ventures: A Guide for Start-ups and New Innovations
by
How to Write a Business Plan: Win Backing and Support for Your Ideas and Ventures
by
The One-Hour Business Plan: The Simple and Practical Way to Start Anything New
by
Starting a Business All-In-One
by
Writing a Business Plan: A Practical Guide
by
Legal Guide to United States Business Organizations
This volume provides an overview of United States federal and state law governing business organizations. The chapters take the reader through a step-by-step exposition of the most basic sole proprietorships to the most complex multi-tiered conglomerates. Among the business organizations treated are partnerships with their various modalities (general partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships), corporations (including closely held corporations, public corporations and other variations) and limited liability companies. The case law and statutes governing the full menu of business organizations are systematically analyzed and presented. Leading cases at both the federal and state level as well as model legislation such as the Uniform Partnership Act and enacted legislation are further examined. Other topics covered include Agency and partnerships, Accounting, taxation and finance, Startup corporations and venture capital, Fiduciary duties and shareholder control, Mergers and acquisitions.
Limited Liability Companies
... Limited Liabilty Companies For Dummies is a clear, concise guide that explains the pros and cons of LLCs and shares insider insights on everything from choosing your members and your company name to creating and filing your Articles of Organization, to the day-to-day operation of your LLC. Plus, you'll the most current, real-world advice on customizing an LLC for your specific business needs...
Nolo's guide to single member LLCs : how to form & fund your single member limited liability company
Find Out All You Need to Know About Single Member LLCs Single-member LLCs are the new business entity of choice for small businesses with one owner. Easy to form and operate, Single Member LLCs combine some of the most desirable features of older, more traditional business structures like corporations, partnerships, and sole proprietorships. With an Single Member LLC, you get personal liability protection, pass-through taxation, and flexibility of management. This book provides an overview of everything you need to know about Single Member LLCs, including: what forms and documents you need to create an SMLLC how to initially fund an SMLLC what your options are for managing an SMLLC how to prepare taxes for an SMLLC what kinds of records you need to maintain for your SMLLC, and liability issues specific to SMLLCs. Nolo's Guide to Single-Member LLCs has all the essential information you need to decide whether an SMLLC is the right choice for your business. The book includes a sample operating agreement and written consent forms as well as tips and examples throughout to help clarify the most important points.
Ultimate Book of Business and Legal Forms for Startups
Assembled by a team of more than fifteen attorneys whose legal specialties apply to practically all aspects of starting, operating, and maintaining a business, this valuable resource delivers not only the necessary forms to launch a business, but everything from hiring and firing, conducting business online, to franchising--totaling more than 200 forms, all at your fingertips! Covering all the legal aspects of starting a business and applicable across many industries, this ultimate go-to resource covers: Business formation: Sole proprietorships, Partnerships, LLCs, Corporations ...
Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442
University Information Security and Privacy
© 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona.
Text: 520-762-7271
Phone: 520-621-6442
Email: library@arizona.edu
Find Your Librarian
