LGBTQ+2s Resource Guide: Reading List

Bisexuality conference
Author Robin Ochs reflects on the discussions from a conference panel. The panel dealt with the question "How do we live as bisexual?" Several options were presented at the conference.

Compulsory Heterosexuality and Lesbian Existence
Adrienne Rich's essay is published in several books. Historically speaking it helped spur the feminist movement. 

The Invention of Heterosexuality 

Author Jonathan Katz posits that "the concept of heterosexuality is only one particular historical way of perceiving, categorizing, and imagining the social relations of the sexes."

Trans People in Higher Education

Addresses the experiences of trans college students, faculty, and staff in a single volume for the first time.

Female, Lesbian, and Jewish: Complex and Invisible
Managing a marginal identity different from the dominant culture is a difficult process. For a woman who is a lesbian and also Jewish, this means feeling marginal in each of the communities she considers to be her primary support systems.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States
Comprehensive in scope and accessible to students and general readers, Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States explores contemporary American LGBTQ literature and its social, political, cultural, and historical contexts. 

LGBTQ youth and education: policies and practices
This book offers a nuanced portrait of students, showing how issues of race, gender, gender identity, and class shape and complicate their experience; examines the history and contemporary movements for LGBTQ rights; describes a variety of discipline-based approaches to teaching students to think about LGBTQ-related concerns; shows examples of youth organizing into extracurricular groups or creating school- and community-based interventions, and highlights the role of online communities and web-based resources.

Living Out Islam: Voices of Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Muslims
While many gay Muslims remain closeted, fearful of shaming their family, their mosque and their peers, some are finding inspiring -- and unconventional -- ways to cope.

Trans and Gender Diverse Voices in Libraries

This book centers the lived experiences of trans and gender diverse people in LIS work and education. All authors and editors are self-identified trans and gender diverse people.

The Reparative Impulse of Queer Young Adult Literature
This book is a provocative meditation on emotion, mood, history, and futurism in the critique of queer texts created for younger audiences. Given critical demands to distance queer youth culture from narratives of violence, sadness, and hurt that have haunted the queer imagination, this volume considers how post-2000s YA literature and media negotiate their hopeful purview with a broader—and ongoing—history of queer oppression and violence.

The Queer Art of History: Queer Kinship After Fascism
Jennifer V. Evans examines postwar and contemporary German history to broadly argue for a practice of queer history that moves beyond bounded concepts and narratives of identity. Drawing on Black feminism, queer of color critique, and trans studies, Evans points out that although many rights for LGBTQI people have been gained in Germany, those rights have not been enjoyed equally. 

Digital Transgender Archive

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
Defining Gender

Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective

GenderWatch*

This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Gender Studies Database*

Find journal articles, books and book chapters, and conference papers about gender & women's studies, LGBT and sexual diversity issues, from 1972-present. Presented by EBSCOHost.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index* 

Find articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East.

Gender Studies (Gale Onefile)*

Access scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

LGBT Studies in Video*

Watch documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and feature films related to LGBT topics.

LGBT Thought and Culture*

Find books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century and to the present day.

Queer Pasts*

Find primary source exhibits, including both text and video, for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses queer in its broadest and most inclusive sense.

*User needs to be logged into their NetID or using campus network

Queer Cats: Journal of LGBTQ Studies
Queer Cats publishes peer-­-­ and editorial-­ -­ reviewed interdisciplinary LGBTQ research along with the proceedings of our annual QGrad (queer graduate student) conference.

LGBTQ+ Family: An Interdisciplinary Journal

LGBTQ+ Family addresses the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals in families and the impact of sexual orientation and more on families.

Transgender Studies Quarterly

TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives. It publishes interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship. 

LGBT Health

The only peer-reviewed journal covering all areas pertinent to the health of and healthcare services for sexual and gender minority populations worldwide.

International Journal of LGBTQ+ Youth Studies

Publishes research on improving the quality of life for sexual and gender minority youth including lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex and allied youth.

Educating New Generations: Standpoints in Women's and Gender Studies and Implications for the Inclusion of LGBTQ Studies in Italian University Courses

This article explores the current feminist and gender discourse in in order to catch a glimpse of what will be needed to fill this gap in Italian University Courses.

"THERE IS QUEER INEQUITY, BUT I PICK TO BE HAPPY" Racialized Feeling Rules and Diversity Regimes in University LGBTQ Resource Centers

This article looks in to how race and racism play a role in University Diversity Centers.

The Atlantic. LGBT Students and Campus Sexual Assault: Non-heterosexual students experience harassments at disproportionately high rates, according to a new survey.

This article discusses survey results from university students on various campuses, including the University of Arizona. Survey responses indicate that campus sexual assault is a problem for LGBT students who experience sexual assault at a higher rate and to a more severe degree than their heterosexual peers.

College Student Experiences with an LGBTQ Ally Training Program: A Mixed Methods Study at a University in the Southern United States

This article looks at the experiences of college students involved in a LGBTQ ally program.

Campus Climates for Sexual Minorities

Sexual minorities encounter unique challenges due to their sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression that often prevents them from achieving their full academic potential or participating fully in the campus community.

Gay, lesbian, and transgender issues in education : programs, policies, and practices

Understand the challenges from the voices involved in today's LGBT youth AND the leading educators and scholars in the field! Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Issues in Education presents LGBT youth issues through the words of the adolescents themselves, along with clear up-to-date essays about LGBT youth programs, policies, and practices around the world.

"It's Already Hard Enough Being a Student": Developing Affirming College Environments for Trans Youth

The current article is a qualitative study of the daily lived experiences of resilience that trans youth have as they engage in self-advocacy within their college environments. Using a phenomenological research tradition and theories of liberation psychology and feminism, researchers interviewed 18 trans youth. There were four major themes in the participant data: (a) campus-wide trans-affirming language, (b) campus training on trans student concerns, (c) trans-affirming campus health care access, and (d) developing a community of trans allies on campus. In addition to study limitations, future practice, research, and advocacy implications for developing trans-affirming educational environments for trans youth are provided.

Teaching Beyond the Gender Binary in the University Classroom

Increased awareness around the complexities of gender identity and expression has given rise to questions regarding best practices for promoting gender inclusivity on campuses across the country. From debates about the appropriate policy regarding student name changes to awareness campaigns about pronoun usages, university administrators, professors, and students are collectively forging toward a more nuanced understanding.

The University of Arizona provides Overdrive/Libby for free to students, faculty, and staff with a NetID. You can learn more about Libby and how to sign up for your account using the "Recreational Reading with Libby by Overdrive" guide.

The Queer Liberation Library offers a free library card for members that can be added to a Libby account, free of charge! It is quick and easy to sign up, once you have confirmed your email account you will be automatically directed to the Libby app in the app store on your device if you have not already downloaded it. The library card will connect and you will have immediate access to their collection with five holds per month!