LibGuides: Resources for Alumni and Unaffiliated Health Providers: General Medical Resources

Free Specialty Resources

Brown Skin Matters
Community sourced database of dermatological conditions on non-white skin.
Skin of Color Society - Dermatology Resources
Educational resources for physicians and patients on dermatology issues affecting skin of color. Includes videos, textbooks, blog articles, and research and grant opportunities.
PTSDpubs
PTSD resources produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs; not limited to literature on PTSD among veterans.
PEDro (Physiotherapy evidence Database)
Database of trials, reviews and guidelines on physiotherapy.
UTMB Radiology resources
List of mostly free Radiology resources for GME and beyond
The Web of Neurology
Free online resources for Neurology compiled by the Health Science Information Consortium of Toronto.

Clinical Evidence and Guidelines

Clinical evidence can include clinical trials, guidelines, systematic reviews and additional information beyond peer-reviewed journals.

ClinicalTrials.gov
A database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world, provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Trip Database
Fnd high quality clinical research evidence.
AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Reports
EPC reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies.
Preventative Services Task Force
Recommendations for clinical preventive services developed by an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention.
ECRI Guidelines
ECRI Guidelines trust is a curated clinical practice guideline repository. Included guidelines are reviewed and must past inclusion criteria aligned with the 2011 IOM definition of clinical practice guidelines.

Patient Education

Trusted sites your patients will be able to understand; many include handouts you can print and provide to patients.

MedlinePlus Health Topics
Accurate, evidence-based health information written for patients, links to other resources, and printable patient handouts from the National Library of Medicine. Includes some handouts in Spanish.
MedinePlus en Espanol
Información de salud y folletos para pacientes.
FamilyDoctor.com
Trusted medical advice for patients from the American Academy of Family Physicians.
Pediatric Patient Handouts
Patient handouts for parents of infants and children in 13 languages from the American Academy of Pediatrics.
University of Arizona Health Sciences Library Outreach
A wealth of consumer health resources to help empower your patients. Resources for local Native American Indian peoples, as well as more resources in several languages.

Providing Inclusive Care

Guide to Providing Effective Communication and Language Assistance Services
This program is intended to support the delivery of culturally and linguistically competent services and the implementation of the National CLAS Standards.
Empathetic Listening Module
This module from AMA with help you identify, demonstrate and apply empathetic listening techniques to improve the patient experience.
A Physician's Guide to Culturally Competent Care
Free online education program for physicians, physician assistants and nurse practitioners. CE credits available.
EthnoMed
Information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other topics related to the health care of immigrants to the US.
Disabilities and Health Inclusion Strategies
Includes a section called "Communicating With and About People with Disabilities"

International Databases

Global Index Medicus
Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Native Health Database
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resources pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
LILACS (Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature)
Scientific health information from Latin America and the Caribbean countries
SciELO
Open access repository of over 1200 journals from 16 countries, mainly in Latin America. Articles may be available in English, Spanish or Portuguese.

Free CME

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Resources for Alumni and Unaffiliated Health Providers: General Medical Resources