Asian & Asian American History in the Borderlands
Research Databases
The databases listed on this page contain both Asian & Asian American-centered databases and more general resources. Those listed under Asian & Asian American are specific databases that contain work from and about Asian & Asian American writers, artists, filmmakers, and more. The databases listed under Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More are more general databases that contain many resources about Asian and Asian American life in the U.S./Mexico Borderlands and beyond. These databases are provided by the UA Libraries for the UA community. Check with your university or local library as they may have access to some of these databases.
Asian & Asian American-centered Databases | Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
Asian & Asian American-centered databases
- Adam Matthew AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowFind primary source materials from UAL's purchased digital collections on American Indians, the American West, China, the Middle East, Latin America, gender studies, early modern women writers, Virginia Company and more, published by Adam Matthew Digital.
- Airiti Library This link opens in a new windowFind full-text journal articles, doctoral dissertations, and conference papers from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and mainland China covering a variety of subjects.
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new windowFind plays from and about Asian Americans including subject, authors, characters, and scenes.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement - Asian Films Online: Volumes I & II This link opens in a new windowFind contemporary films featuring voices and perspectives from Asian filmmakers, with a strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, Southeast Asia, Turkey, Hong Kong, Afghanistan, and Vietnam.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility Statement - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowFind articles, monographs (until 1991), proceedings, and festschriften written in Western languages of all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia from 1971 to present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions - China, America and the Pacific This link opens in a new windowFind manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, maps, and historical archives on America, China and the Pacific region from 18th century to early 20th century.
- China, Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new windowThis is an informative English-language resource relating to China and the West on almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.
- China: Culture and Society (1750-1929) This link opens in a new windowThis full-text searchable resource is mostly in English and published between 1750 and 1929, encompassing a wide variety of writings on the people and cultures of China and foreign involvement on China constituting a rich primary and secondary resource for scholars in numerous disciplines.
- China Academic Journals (Literature/History/Philosophy, Series F) This link opens in a new windowFind full-text articles from Chinese academic journals in literature, history and philosophy, 1915 to present.
- China Doctoral Dissertations & Master's Theses Full-text Databases This link opens in a new windowFind full-text Chinese dissertations and master's theses in literature, history and philosophy, 1984 to present.
- China Legal Knowledge Integrated Database This link opens in a new windowFind legal content from the Peoples Republic of China, with coverage from 1949 to the present, and resources in the Chinese language.
- CJKV-English Dictionary of Confucian, Daoist, and Intellectual Historical Terms This link opens in a new windowThe Chinese-Japanese-Korean-Vietnamese/English Dictionary [CJKV-E] is a compilation of Chinese ideographs, as well as ideograph-comprised compound words, text names, person names, etc., found primarily in the Confucian and Daoist classics.
- DuXiu This link opens in a new windowAn index database providing full text search capability to millions of volumes of e-books and other materials including dissertations, journals, magazines, and newspapers. The first 17 pages of each e-book are available for preview. Document delivery is also available.
- Foreign Office files for China [1919-1980] This link opens in a new windowFind eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports, and analyses on key events, leading personalities, and all major new developments relating to China from 1919-1980.
- Foreign Office files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new windowThis collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia for the period between 1972 and 1980. The documents, from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera.
- JapanKnowledge This link opens in a new windowAccess to various reference sources in Japan including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, Progressive Japanese-English/English-Japanese Dictionaries, Gendai Yogo No Kiso Chishiki, Nihon Jinmei Daijiten, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, and many more.
- KCI-Korean Journal Database This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea. Search in Korean or English.
- KinoDen (eBook database) This link opens in a new windowFind multidisciplinary ebook selections from Japanese academic publishers.
Note: UA Libraries has full text access to only about 100 titles here. - Kokushi Daijiten (In Japanese) This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest Japanese language encyclopedias of historical topics on Japan.
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind newspapers covering early 20th-century Chinese history from the demise of Chinas last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, through the foundation of the Peoples Republic of China in October 1949.
- MAGAZINEPLUS (Japanese only) This link opens in a new windowExplore indexes to popular, academic, and professional journal articles in Japan, including the complete file of Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (1975 - present), a database of periodical articles submitted to the National Diet Library in humanities, social sciences, science, engineering, and medicine from 1945 to present.
Zasshi Kiji Sakuin is now available as part of MAGAZINESPLUS. - Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowFind research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, 1900-present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions - Nihon rekishi chimei taikei This link opens in a new windowFind digitized and fully-indexed version of the 51 vols. of the compendium of the Japanese Historical Gazetteer.
- Southeast Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind newspapers covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, dating from the 1860s to the 1970s.
Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowFind citations to articles from alternative, radical, and left publications, 1991-present, covering racial and gender issues, gay and lesbian studies, labor, and more.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions - America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind fully digitized early American newspapers, covering 1690-1922; historical newspapers from Arizona and New Mexico; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; and three newspapers from the 20th Century American Newspapers series: The Times-Picayune (New Orleans), 1923-1988; The Plain Dealer (Cleveland), 1923-1991; and The Oregonian, 1923-1987
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind fully digitized U.S. historical newspapers from the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowThe collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, exploring topics of cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFind articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions - Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowFind video documentaries about race and gender studies, human rights, multiculturalism, global studies, environment, bioethics, health, political science, psychology, arts, and more.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility Statement - Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions - Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles, books and book chapters, and conference papers about gender & women's studies, LGBT and sexual diversity issues, from 1972-present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions - GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles, books, and alternative and independent magazines in gender and women's studies, as well as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender research.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions - LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowWatch documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and feature films related to LGBT topics.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility Statement - New Mexico Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind full text and full page images of newspapers from cities around New Mexico published between 1844-1920.
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new windowFind plays, playbills, production photos, and other materials related to women playwrights, from colonial era to present day.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement - Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new windowFind scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions - Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new windowFind handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement - Understanding Hate In America This link opens in a new windowFind local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations.
- Women's Magazine Archive, 1846-2005 This link opens in a new windowFind the foremost titles in this subject area, serving as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Subjects covered include parenting, education, health, psychology, family life, home economics, careers, fashion, and culture.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions - Women and Social Movements International, 1840 to Present This link opens in a new windowFind texts by women activists, 1840-present.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowFind primary and secondary materials about the history of women in social movements.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement