Asian & Asian American History in the Borderlands

The materials located on this page can be found at the Arizona Historical Society Tucson location, an institution separate from the University of Arizona. This page represents only a small fraction of the Arizona Historical Society's materials related to Asian & Asian American life in the borderlands. Please contact their archivists for questions about additional materials. 

Archival Collections | Additional Resources

Frances & Mary Montgomery collection (MSS 7)

Contains newspapers, yearbooks and correspondence collected by Frances & Mary Montgomery. These two sisters worked as teachers at Butte High School which was located at the Gila River Relocation Center during World War II. This collection documents the experiences of Japanese Americans in relocation camps along the West Coast. 

Soleng Tom photograph collection, ca. 1937-1945 (PC 193)

Contains photographs of primarily Chinese-owned businesses, like grocery stores and restaurants, in Tucson, Arizona. 

Tucson Chinese Community photographs, ca. 1950-1959 (unprocessed)

Contains photographs taken by Soleng Tom of the Tucson Chinese community. 

Tucson Commission on Human Relations papers, 1956 - 1968 (MS 1369)

Contains materials related to various social group relations and social justice issues. 

Tucson Committee for Interracial Understanding records, 1943 - 1954 (MS 904)

Contains correspondence, clippings, and committee minutes for the Tucson Committee for Interracial Understanding. These materials document their efforts to combat discrimination in Arizona. 

Wade Head collection (MSS 118)

Contains the records of Wade Head who served as the director of the Colorado River War Relocation Center during World War II. This collection contains materials related to the experiences of Japanese Americans in relocation camps from the perspective of camp leadership.

Ayres Newspaper Index

Collection contains various Arizona newspapers, many of which contain articles about Asian & Asian American citizens, businesses, and events. 

Cutting Sign on the Line: The Arizona Border Patrol of the 1920s & 1930s through the Lens of Earl Fallis

A digital collection comprised of various archival materials that document activities of early 20th century Border Patrol agents. This collection contains records related to Chinese immigration at the border. 

Ephemera Files

AHS hold a significant amount of ephemera files documenting Asian & Asian American life in Arizona and the greater borderlands region. Within these files, researchers can find materials related to the University of Arizona, Tucson Asian communities, and local Asian organizations. Please contact their archivists for specific questions regarding materials. 

Oral Histories

AHS Tucson contains many oral histories and their transcriptions, many of which are those of Asian & Asian American citizens.