The library has a rich collection of children's literature. You can find both fiction and non-fiction titles by browsing the Children's Literature Collection on the third floor of the Main Library or by visiting the Worlds of Words collection in the Education Building.
These two exercises show you how to locate children's literature in the Main Library and in the Worlds of Words.
Something About the Author is an excellent database to use to locate information for your author profile assignment. The exercise will help guide you through the process of searching for information on your selected author.
There are several resources that you can use for your text set. You will explore a few of them here.
An annotated bibliography is an organized list of sources.
"An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents just like the bibliography at the end of a paper. However, the 'annotated' part, is followed a brief (in this case around 3 sentences) descriptive and evaluative paragraph to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. For children's literature, comments on the illustrations, reading level, interest level, awards won, concerns or cautions, and possible classroom uses are included in the annotation".
(2024, January 4). Children's Literature: Bibliographies. Children's Literature Research Guide. https://libguides.uttyler.edu/c.php?g=357600&p=2738917
Learn more
Bank Street College of Education has an excellent resource for creating an annotated bibliography for children's literature.
University of Texas at Tyler has various resources around children's literature and annotated bibliographies.
See also: Annotated Bibliography Samples - Purdue Online Writing Lab
Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442
University Information Security and Privacy
© 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona.
