Search our library collection, databases, unique digital collections, and open access materials from a single search box.
Note: After selecting the Primo link above, use the Library Search box available on the library homepage.
Critical thinking is becoming increasingly prominent as an academic discipline taught and examined in schools and universities, as well as a crucial skill for everyday life. To be a successful critical thinker it is vital to understand how the different concepts and terms are defined and used. The terminology often presents a stumbling block for the beginner, since much of it is used imprecisely in everyday language. This definitive A to Z guide provides precise definitions for over 130 terms and concepts used in critical thinking.
Communicate Science Papers, Presentations, and Posters Effectively is a guidebook on science writing and communication that professors, students, and professionals in the STEM fields can use in a practical way. This book advocates a clear and concise writing and presenting style, enabling users to concentrate on content. The text is useful to both native and non-native English speakers. The book includes chapters on the publishing industry (discussing bibliometrics, h-indexes, and citations), plagiarism, and how to report data properly. It also offers practical guidance for writing equations and provides the reader with extensive practice material consisting of both exercises and solutions. Covers how to accurately and clearly exhibit results, ideas, and conclusions Identifies phrases common in scientific literature that should never be used Discusses the theory of presentation, including "before and after" examples highlighting best practices Provides concrete, step-by-step examples on how to make camera ready graphs and tables
...This highly readable and entertaining book distills best practice research on science communication into accessible chapters, supported by case studies and examples. With practical advice on everything from messages and metaphors to metrics and ethics, you will learn what the public think about science and why, and how to shape scientific research into a story that will influence beliefs, behaviors and policies...
Great presenters aren't born that way. They become great by focusing on their message, the needs of the audience, patterns of organization and the details of presenting. Confident, effective public speaking is not easy, but it's certainly doable. Everything you need is right here in 'The Truth about Confident Presenting'.