Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

TLS 480/481 - Children's Literature in the Classroom (Fall 2017)

Your librarian and your instructor have collaborated to create this course guide. It includes exercises and resources to help you successfully complete your research and coursework.

Profile

Leslie Sult's picture
Leslie Sult
Contact:
Main Library A208
(520) 626-3850

Finding children's literature: Selecting a book & favorite author to share

The library has a rich collection of children's literature. You can find both fiction and non-fiction titles by browsing the Children's Literature Collection on the third floor of the Main Library or by visiting the Worlds of Words collection in the Education Building.

These two exercises show you how to locate children's literature in the Main Library and the International Collection of Children's and Adolescent Literature in the World of Words.

Resources for author & illustrator profiles

Something About the Author is an excellent database to use to locate information for your author profile assignment. The exercise will help guide you through the process of searching for information on your selected author.

Resources for the text set project

Resources for the inquiry project

Google Scholar

Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, and technical reports.

To configure your preferences for the University of Arizona:

  1. In Google Scholar, select "Settings" (at top of page).
  2. Select "Library links" (on left).
  3. Type "University of Arizona" in the box and select "University of Arizona - Full-Text @ UofA Library."
  4. Save.
  5. If you are off-campus and want to export citations from Google Scholar to RefWorks, either connect to Google Scholar via the library website or connect to the internet using UA VPN.

APA citation guides