Finding children's literature: Selecting a book & favorite author to share
The library has a rich collection of children's literature. You can find both fiction and non-fiction titles by browsing the Children's Literature Collection on the third floor of the Main Library or by visiting the Worlds of Words collection in the Education Building.
These two exercises show you how to locate children's literature in the Main Library and in the Worlds of Words.
Complete this activity to find your local library and access materials.
Resources for author & illustrator profiles
Something About the Author is an excellent database to use to locate information for your author profile assignment. The exercise will help guide you through the process of searching for information on your selected author.
A go-to resource for librarians, educators, parents, book creators, and publishers who seek to create collections in which all children can see themselves -- and each other -- reflected in the picture books they read.
The following configuration may be needed to access UA-subscribed content from off campus: 1. In Google Scholar, open the "hamburger" menu in the far upper left next to the Google Scholar logo and select "Settings. 2. From the settings menu, select "Library links". 3. Type "University of Arizona" in box and select "University of Arizona - Full-Text @ UofA Libraries". Then click Save. 4. When searching, articles for which we have full text access will display with a link "Full-Text @ UofA Libraries"; select this link to access it. (Please note that this link may be hidden in the smaller links below the citation, and you may need to click on the double arrow to the right of them to find it.) 5. To export citations to a bibliography manager, such as RefWorks or EndNote, go to the Settings menu, click on "search results", select the desired manager in the drop-down menu next to "show links to import citations into", and Save.
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.
Disability in Kidlit is dedicated to discussing the portrayal of disability in middle grade and young adult literature. We publish articles, reviews, interviews, and discussions examining this topic from various angles—and always from the disabled perspective.
Engage with works about, for, and/or by Latinxs; Offer a broad forum on Latinx children’s, MG, and YA books; Promote literacy and the love of books within the Latinx community; Examine the historical and contemporary state of Latinx characters; Encourage interest in Latinx children’s, MG, and YA literature among non-Latin@ readers.