. Skip to Main Content

Find materials by type

Images - Frequently asked questions

Recommended image collections

Arizona and regional

Arizona Photograph Collections - Arizona Memory Project

Historic Photographs - Arizona State Archives

Arizona, Southwestern, and Borderlands Photograph Collection - UA Special Collections

University of Arizona Photograph Collection - UA Special Collections

Art

Historical and contemporary

Openverse (formerly Creative Commons' CC Search)
This tool allows you to search millions of images from a variety of sites. To search for images only, select Images from the All Content drop-down menu. You can filter results by license, file type, source, and more. The “credit the creator” box provides attribution information. Learn more about CC licenses.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Browse prints, drawings, photographs, maps, videos, and more. NYPL's Digital Collections span a range of historical eras, covering the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.

Digital Public Library of America
Search millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums, or browse online exhibitions.

Smithsonian Libraries' Image Gallery
Browse thousands of images from the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries. See usage restrictions. All images in Smithsonian Open Access are in the public domain.

Library of Congress on Flickr
Access more than 38,000 historical images.

LIFE magazine
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.

Health sciences

Digital Collections (National Library of Medicine)
Find still and moving images, including Images from the History of Medicine. All content is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain.

MedPix (National Library of Medicine)
A free open-access database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.

Public Health Image Library (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Search for photographs, images, and videos.

Maps

Aerial photographs

Science

Cell Image Library
Find images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms. Licenses vary. You can filter by license type using advanced search.

NASA Image and Video Library
Find images, videos, and audio of space exploration. Most images are in the public domain, but see usage guidelines.

Google Advanced Image Search

Google's Advanced Image Search lets you filter by image size and type, color, format, region, usage rights, and more.

Using images

See best practices for image use for sources of diverse images, copyright considerations, citation guidelines, accessibility advice, tools for doing reverse image searches, and tools for editing images.