The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography provides signed biographies of 50,000 men and women who have shaped all aspects of British history from the earliest times up to the present. It is searchable by name, full text, references, contributors, images, and may also be browsed alphabetically by name, or by themes.
Biography databases for specific subjects
Many subject-specific databases also include biographical information. Some good ones include:
Find articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Grove Music Online (formerly the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, and the New Grove Dictionary of Opera) is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Note: Limited to 11 simultaneous users.
We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples. Today, Arizona is home to 22 federally recognized tribes, with Tucson being
home to the O’odham and the Yaqui. Committed to diversity and inclusion, the University strives to build sustainable relationships with sovereign Native Nations and Indigenous
communities through education offerings, partnerships, and community service
Unless an exception applies, certain textual content on this web page is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. To learn more, see the University of Arizona Libraries CC BY copyright policy. This license allows anyone to share and adapt that content as long as proper attribution is given and the license terms are followed.