This is an A-Z guide to approximately 300 writers, primarily novelists, poets, dramatists, and short story writers, whose works are anthologized in textbooks or assigned in high school English courses. Each entry includes a biographical sketch, synopsis of major works, and a brief bibliography, these range in length from 200 to 1000 words. Coverage focuses on writers in languages other than English, looking at major Euopean writers as well as those from Asia and Latin America.
The only comprehensive reference devoted to special education The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. This completely updated and comprehensive A-Z reference includes about 200 new entries, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and RTI. The latest editions of assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings are discussed. Only encyclopedia or comprehensive reference devoted to special education Edited and written by leading researchers and scholars in the field New edition includes over 200 more entries than previous edition, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition--such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and Response to Intervention, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), Autism and Applied Behavior Analysis Entries will be updated to cover the latest editions of the assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings Includes an international list of authors and descriptions of special education in 35 countries Includes technology and legal updates to reflect a rapidly changing environment Comprehensive and thoroughly up to date, this is the essential, A-Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs.
The Handbook of Clinical Linguistics brings together an international team of contributors to produce an original and in-depth survey of this multi-faceted field. It fills a gap in the existing literature as the first non-encyclopedic volume to provide comprehensive, up to date coverage of this ever-expanding area of linguistics.
An authoritative overview of language and speech disorders, featuring new and updated chapters written by leading specialists from across the field The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, provides timely and authoritative coverage of current issues, foundational principles, and new research directions within the study of communication disorders. Building upon the reputation of the landmark first edition, this volume offers an exceptionally broad and in-depth survey of the field, presenting original chapters by internationally recognized specialists that examine an array of language, speech, and cognitive disorders and discuss the most crucial aspects of this evolving discipline while providing practical information on analytical methods and assessment. Now in its second edition, the Handbook features extensively revised and refocused content throughout, reflecting the latest advances in the field. Original and updated chapters explore diverse topics including literacy and literacy impairments, patterns of normal and disordered language development, hearing impairment and cochlear implants, language acquisition and language delay, dementia, dysarthria, ADHD, autism spectrum disorder, and many others. This acclaimed single-volume reference resource: Provides 26 original chapters which describe the latest in new research and which indicate future research directions Covers new developments in research since the original publication of the first edition Features in-depth coverage of the major disorders of language and speech, including new insights on perception, hearing impairment, literacy, and genetic syndromes Includes a series of foundational chapters covering a variety of important general principles, including labelling, diversity, intelligibility, assessment, and intervention The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, is essential reading for researchers, scholars, and students in speech and language pathology, speech, language and hearing sciences, and clinical llinguistics, as well as active practitioners and clinicians.
Handbook of Pragmatic Language Disorders by Louise Cummings (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021-09-23
This reference work is the first to examine pragmatic language disorders of clients in complex and underserved populations. In chapters written by a range of experts, the unique pragmatic language skills of clients are examined, allowing for a broad overview. The text gives focus to client groups with complex cognitive and psychiatric problems and children and adults that have been underserved by clinical language services because of maltreatment and social exclusion. Pragmatic disorders are examined in children with sensory loss, children who have been exposed to HIV and substance abuse, and adults with Huntington's disease and other complex neurodegenerative pathologies. This Handbook is an essential reference for researchers and clinicians in speech-language pathology, linguistics, psychology, and education.
The Speech-Language Pathologist's Handbook for Inclusive School Practices by Ph.D., Julie Causton; M.A., Chelsea Tracy-Bronson; Julie Causton; Chelsea Tracy-Bronson; Patrick Schwarz (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
Every inclusive school team needs a great SLP who supports communication skills where theyâe(tm)re needed mostâe"in the classroom, as students with disabilities learn and participate alongside their peers. This is the practical, friendly guide SLPs need to go beyond pull-out services and deliver successful communication and language supports as part of an inclusive school team. Packed with immediately useful strategies, relatable examples, and invaluable insights from experienced SLPs, this guidebook is key to helping students with disabilities improve their communicative functioning so they can access the curriculum and fully participate in classroom routines and activities. New and seasoned SLPs will turn to this book again and again for clear guidance on succeeding in an inclusive classroom and helping all students reach their full potential. STRATEGIES THAT HELP SLPs: provide effective communication and language supports within the classroom environment collaborate with other members of the school team promote higher academic achievement through communication supports help facilitate peer supports and friendships choose accommodations and modifications that improve communication and participation match supports to studentsâe(tm) specific strengths keep expectations high for all students maximize student independence respond to challenging behavior in gentle, positive ways PRACTICAL MATERIALS: Tools and checklists to help plan and communicate a speech-language therapy plan, choose student supports, clarify team roles and responsibilities, presume competence, and more.
Widely recognized as one of the most valuable resources in speech-language pathology, the respected Hegde's PocketGuide to Treatment in Speech-Language Pathology is now in its third edition. Designed as a companion volume to the PocketGuide to Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology, Third Edition, it provides clinical practitioners and students in communication sciences and disorders a quick reference for treatment techniques. The most desirable features of a specialized dictionary of terms, clinical resource book, and textbook of treatment are combined in this single, easy-to-access resource. Treatment techniques are provided in a "do this" format. Information not directly related to treatment techniques has been moved to the new PocketGuide to Communication Disorders, allowing for expanded coverage of treatment techniques and the addition of important new entries, making this edition more relevant and useful than ever!
This dictionary provides clear and concise explanations of terms used in the field of speech, therapy pathology and relevant terms in related fields including augmentative, alternative communication, hearing, linguistic, medicine, phonetics/phonology and psychology/psychiatry. Those working with people who have communication disorders and those who may be returning to this field will find the explanations easy to understand. Terms include assessments, therapy programmes and current theories in these fields. This edition has been thoroughly updated. It includes useful website addresses for manufacturers and suppliers of communication aids and publishers of assessments, and where to find useful information on the internet for various conditions.
❤️ the library? Help make it better!
Help improve our services for a chance to win prizes. Sign up in one minute and do it remotely!