Responding to COVID-19: Weaver Library is open Sunday through Thursday 9am-9pm, and Friday and Saturday 9am-5pm. You can also contact us by chat, text, and email during those hours. We’re providing limited services in the Main Library lobby. The Health Sciences Library is open to Health Sciences affiliates.Learn more about access during COVID-19.
In the past decade, enormous strides have been made in understanding the human brain. The advent of sophisticated new imaging techniques (e.g. PET, MRI, MEG, etc.) and new behavioral testing procedures have revolutionized our understanding of the brain, and we now know more about the anatomy, functions, and development of this organ than ever before. However, much of this knowledge is scattered across scientific journals and books in a diverse group of specialties: psychology, neuroscience, medicine, etc. The Encyclopedia of the Human Brain places all information in a single source and contains clearly written summaries on what is known of the human brain. Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world. The Encyclopedia articles range in size from 5-30 printed pages each, and contain a definition paragraph, glossary, outline, and suggested readings, in addition to the body of the article. Lavishly illustrated, the Encyclopedia includes over 1000 figures, many in full color. Managing both breadth and depth, the Encyclopedia is a must-have reference work for life science libraries and researchers investigating the human brain.
The annual Computational Neuroscience Meeting (CNS) began in 1990 as a small workshop called Analysis and Modeling of Neural Systems. The goal of the workshop was to explore the boundary between neuroscience and computation. Riding on the success of several seminal papers, physicists had made "Neural Networks" fashionable, and soon the quantitative methods used in these abstract model networks started permeating the methods and ideas of experimental neuroscientists. Although experimental neurophysiological approaches provided many advances, it became increasingly evident that mathematical and computational techniques would be required to achieve a comprehensive and quantitative understanding of neural system function. Computational Neuroscience emerged to complement experimental neurophysiology. The Encyclopedia of Computational Neuroscience, published in conjunction with the Organization for Computational Neuroscience, will be an extensive reference work consultable by both researchers and graduate level students. It will be a dynamic, living reference, updatable and containing linkouts and multimedia content whenever relevant. "
The recent advances in neuroimaging techniques, particularly magnetic re- nance (MR), have greatly improved our knowledge of brain anatomy and related brain function. Morphological and functional investigations of the brain using high-definition MR have made detailed study of the brain possible and provided new data on anatomo-functional correlations. These studies have fuelled the interest in central nervous system imaging by clinicians (n- roradiologists, neurosurgeons, neurologists, neurophysiologists, and psych- trists) as well as biophysicists and bioengineers, who are at work on new and ever more sophisticated acquisition and processing techniques to continue to improve the potential of brain imaging methods. The possibility of obtaining high-definition MR images using a 3.0-T m- net prompted us, despite the broad existing literature, to conceive an atlas illustrating in a simple and effective way the anatomy of the brain and correl- ed functions. Following an introductory chapter by Prof. Pierre Rabischong, the atlas is divided into a morphological and a functional imaging section. The morphological atlas includes 3D surface images, axial, coronal, and sagittal scans acquired with high-definition T2 fast spin echo (FSE) sequences, and standard and inverted-contrast images. The MR scans are shown side by side with the corresponding anatomical brain sections, provided by Prof. Henri Duvernoy, for more effective comparison. The anatomical nomenclature adopted for both the MR and the anatomical images is listed in an jacket flap for easier consultation.