LibGuides: Music: Find articles, books & dissertations

Find articles

Music Index
The Music Index: A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature compiled from over 640 International music periodicals. A broad range of historiographical, ethnographical and musicological subjects is covered as well as a number of topics associated with dance, such as ballet and modern dance.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Music Periodicals Database

Find articles on music topics and genres, including performance, ethnomusicology, composition, and music education.

ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Find articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations in ethnomusicology, popular music, jazz studies, classical music, instruments, and musicology. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
JSTOR

Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.

JSTOR screen reader instructions
Iter Bibliography

Find citations to articles, books, reviews, catalogues, and conference proceedings about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes links to full text. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
Nexis Uni

Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.

Note: May require users to log in with their NetID even on campus.

There is a known bug affecting Nexis Uni profile creation. Off-campus users interested in creating a Nexis Uni profile should use this link.

Nexis Uni instructions for screen reader and keyboard only users

Find books

WorldCat (FirstSearch)

Find citations for books, journals, audio, video, and other digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world. Updated daily.

A free version of Worldcat is at worldcat.org

Find dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Find doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities and institutions all around the world.

ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
UA Electronic Theses & Dissertations
More than 38,000 theses and dissertations produced at the University of Arizona are included in the UA Theses and Dissertations collections. These items are publically available and full-text searchable. A small percentage of items are under embargo.

Music Theory Online Dissertation Index
This index includes announcements of completed and in-progress dissertations that have appeared in Music Theory Online.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Music

Humanities Cohort

Find articles

Find books

Find dissertations

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Music

Humanities Cohort

Find articles

Find books

Find dissertations

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect