LibGuides: Mexican American Studies: Find primary sources

Primary sources

UA Special Collections - Arizona-Sonora Documents Online
Arizona-Sonora Documents Online provides web access to digital images of archival collections relating to Sonora, Mexico.
UA Special Collections - Arizona, Southwestern, and Borderlands Photograph Collection Online
This collection contains photographs, from various sources, of Arizona, New Mexico, and Mexico including places, people, events and activities, and dating from about 1875 to the present.
UA Special Collections - Morales de Escárgera Collection Online
The Morales de Escárcega Collection includes over 2000 books, just under 80 broadsides and manuscripts, as well as some photographs. Included in this digital collection are the manuscripts and broadsides included in the collection dedicated to Mexican history.
UA Special Collections - Raul Castro Papers Online
The Raul H. Castro Papers document his career in public service from his election as a Pima County judge in 1958 through three U.S. ambassadorships (El Salvador 1964-1968, Bolivia 1968-1969, and Argentina 1977-1980) as well as the governorship of Arizona (1974-1977).
UA Special Collections - Borderlands
These collections document the region's culture and history, from colonial period to present, including accounts of Native Americans and their ancestors, the impact of Spanish and Mexican settlement, and the influx of Americans and others into the region during the 19th century.
UA Special Collections - Arizona & Southwest
These collections document the region’s culture and history, including accounts of Native Americans, the impact of Spanish and Mexican settlement, and the influx of other groups into the region from the 19th century onwards.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Find historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times until 1960. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions

Mexican Heritage Project
The rich photographic collection of over 4000 images assembled by the Mexican Heritage Project has been accessible to researchers at Arizona Historical Society as individual photos since the mid 1980s.

Oral histories

Chicano Movement Oral Histories
View video online histories of Chicano Movement leaders in Washington State.
Chicano Movement Sacramento
Video oral histories of the Chicano Movement in Sacramento.
Tejano Voices
Audio oral histories and transcripts of leaders and activists in Texas interviewed by Jose Angel Gutierrez. Not all the collection is available online but transcripts are available from the University of Arlington Library Special Collections.
Guide to the San José State University Chicano Oral History Collection
A shelflist of oral histories at San Jose State University.
Betita Martinez -Voice of Feminism Oral History Project (PDF Transcript)
A text based transcript of an oral history from Betita Martinez.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Mexican American Studies

Librarian

Primary sources

Oral histories

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Mexican American Studies

Librarian

Primary sources

Oral histories

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect