Understand the differences between database aggregators, single databases, journals & ebooks, journal articles & ebook chapters.
Click on image to enlarge (in new tab)
This is the box on the library home page. It searches the library catalog including books and many other resources such as journals, news, magazines, and more all at once. (Though does not include everything available).
For a quick search to get a sense of your topic, if you're looking for a specific book (print or ebook), looking up a specific author’s publications, or doing a known-item search (you have the citation and want the item).
Try our Search Tips for general searching suggestions that you can use in this search box.
Our updated Library Search has tutorials coming soon.
The Library's A-Z Databases list can search our databases by title or subject area. Databases search multiple journals at once, and aggregator databases search multiple databases at once.
To start your research. Using a database allows you to search many journals at the same time. Start by using keywords for your topic in a database in your discipline, or a more generalized aggregator database.
Navigate to our list of A-Z Databases. Narrow the field by selecting a specific subject area or type of database.
You can also search multiple databases at once with an aggregator, such as :
Peer-reviewed articles are published in disciplinary journals. You can browse journals to see published articles, or you can search inside journals for articles by using databases.
If there is a particular journal you are looking for or you want to browse what types of journals are available in your field; otherwise, it is recommended to use a database to search multiple journals in your subject area at once.
If you’re looking to access a specific journal, you can search from our Library Search box on the home page.
You can also browse through the journals you have access to and even set up alerts for new issues published with BrowZine.
The University has access to thousands of physical books and ebooks. Access entire ebooks or search for and within chapters.
If you need to read an entire book, or are looking for a specific chapter.
Start with the main Library Search box on our home page. You can search by keywords, title, or browse by author.
Use our Books & ebooks page for help to:
Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442
University Information Security and Privacy
© 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona.
