Primary Resources on Jewish History in Arizona and the Southwest
Librarian and Curator of Political Affairs and History of Science Collections
Special Collections Department
1510 E. University Blvd. C211
P.O. Box 210055
Tucson, AZ 85721-0055
The Bloom Southwest Jewish Archives were founded by David A. and Leona G. Bloom, longstanding members of Tucson’s business, religious, and social service communities. The Archive serves to highlight Jewish contributions to Tucson and surrounding southwest areas. This collection. The materials were transferred to Special Collections in 1998.
The Bloom Southwest Jewish Archives offers several educational exhibits:
- The Pioneers exhibit presents the pioneer Jewish experience in West Texas, New Mexico and Arizona through images of photos held in regional archives and museums, electronic texts, articles, newspaper accounts, and biographical information.
- Synagogues exhibit reinforces that pioneer Jews placed a priority on maintaining their beliefs, values, and traditions amid the hazards of the nation's frontier.
- Crypto-Jews focuses on the Crypto-Jewish experience in the U. S. Southwest (including areas of Mexico)
The Oral Histories section features transcripts of interviews with Tucson's New American community. Members were invited to participate in recording information about their lives and experiences in the former Soviet Union (and now in Tucson). By including their stories, we find similarities between the pioneers of the 19th century and those of the late 20th. These histories include the story of a 20th (and now 21st) century family whose family odyssey is traced from Europe to the eastern U.S. and then to Tucson.
Also included:
- suggested readings
- rights and permissions
- websites related to Southwest Jewish history, Crypto-Judaic studies, and synagogues
Additional oral/video histories on the Tucson/SW Jewish Experience
- Dedication of the Bloom SW Jewish Archives (1991)Dedication Event Ceremony
- Interview with Abraham (Abe) ChaninAbraham (Abe) Chanin was an author, historian, former publisher of the Arizona Jewish Post, sports editor at the Arizona Daily Star, and professor at the University of Arizona School of Journalism from 1976 to1988. From 1988 to 1994, Chanin was director of the Bloom Southwest Jewish Archive at the University of Arizona.
- Abraham (Abe) Channin Lecture"Early Jews of the Southwest"
- Oral Histories from The Bloom SW Jewish ArchivesAbraham (Abe) Chanin conducts oral history interviews with members of the Tucson's Jewish community
- Abraham (Abe) Channin Oral History InterviewsThis collection contains interviews created by Abraham (Abe) Chanin dating from 1974 to 1977 with prominent Arizona settlers, politicians, University of Arizona faculty, and members of Indigenous communities on 30 audiocassettes.
Notable figures include Charles Loloma who discusses the Hopi community and Enos Francisco who details life on the Papagueria. Also of note is an interview with Hiro Nomura, William Kajikawa and Margaret Kajikawa discussing their experiences in a Japanese-American internment camp and Hayzel Burton Daniels discussing African American pioneers. Other interviewees include politicians Raul Castro and Morris Udall and University of Arizona faculty Emil Haury and Roy Drachman. Several of the interviews were used as source material for This Land, These Voices by Abe Chanin with Mildred Chanin, published in 1977. - Eyewitness to History (Tucson TV Series)This collection comprises 23 U-matic master videocassettes of the interview program Eyewitness to History, produced by Tucson UHF station KPOL in the 1980s. Hosted by Abraham (Abe) Chanin, noted Tucson journalist and director of the Bloom Southwest Jewish Archives, the program consists of interviews with prominent Arizonans.