Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Research Strategies: Welcome

Welcome Graduate Students!

These modules were designed by librarians to provide a foundation for graduate level library research. They are self-paced, so you can start anywhere and complete as much as you feel you need.

Not sure where to start?
Take this quiz to assess your research skills: Information Research Strategies Quiz

Effective search strategies

Go beyond Google with a strategy for searching in library databases.

Effective Search Strategies

Research data

Locating research data can stimulate ideas about the kinds of data you might like to gather, as well as provide sources of information to explore and analyze for your own research.

Research Data

Avoiding plagiarism

Learn how to define academic integrity, academic dishonesty and plagiarism, and more.

Avoiding Plagiarism

General databases

Learn to search core interdisciplinary databases, like JSTOR or Google Scholar.

General Databases

Literature reviews

Learn how to recognize the components and characteristics of a good literature review for a dissertations or theses.

Literature Reviews

Copyright & fair use

Learn about the rights and responsibilities of a copyright owner, determining the copyright status of a work, and more.

Copyright & Fair Use

Specialized databases

Identify and search effectively library databases relevant to your discipline.

Specialized Databases

Manage your citations

Learn to use a variety of software tools that can help you store, organize and add your citations to research papers.  

Manage Your Citations

Open access

Learn about open access publishing, your publishing options, and support at the UA.

Open Access

Explore library services

Even the most library-savvy grad student can overlook services that will make their research easier and more efficient.

Graduate students

Vist the For graduate students page:

  • Getting materials: Borrowing, Interlibrary Loan, Document Delivery
  • Study spaces, such as Scholar's corner, Dissertation writers' rooms, and more
  • Writing resources
  • Getting library research assistance, including consultations with liaison librarians.
  • Citation management

 

Instructors

The For Instructors page provides useful tips and resources for teaching assistants:

  • Consult with liaison librarians to create research assignments, library research guides, assessments, etc.
  • Locate course-related open source and library materials
  • Add links to ebooks and streaming videos to your D2L course site
  • Request streaming video to incorporate them into your course website.

 

Share your thoughts: What Library Services do you or would you likely use? Do you have suggestions for new services?