Global Media Studies Program (GLO): Library Research Guide

Reference sources like encyclopedias and handbooks are good starting points for learning about a subject. These are a selected few reference sources to help you learn about news media studies:

• International Encyclopedia of Journalism Studies
• The Routledge Companion to Media Disinformation and Populism
• The Routledge Companion to Media and Class
• The Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights
• The Routledge Companion to Media and Race
• The Routledge Companion to Media and Risk
• The SAGE Handbook of Media and Migration
• The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media & Society

Library resources:  The UA Libraries provide access to hundreds of News/Newspaper databases. Some include current news coverage, some are archives of historical newspapers. Many have coverage of international newspapers, including:

• Access World News
• Global Newsstream
• Latin American Newsstream
• Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
• Nexis Uni
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers 
• ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The New York Times

Evaluating News Sources: Visit our News Literacy Guide to learn about evaluating news sources and "fake news."

Websites:

• Worldpress.org
• Freedom Forum front pages

Use the Communication and Mass Media complete database to search for articles across many different scholarly journals in media studies and journalism. You may also browse specific journals in journalism and media, including:

• Digital Journalism
• Global Media and Communication
• International Journal of Communication
• Journal of International Communication
• Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly 
• Journalism Studies
• Mass Communication & Society
• Media, Culture & Society
• Media, War & Conflict
• Newspaper Research Journal
• Visual Communication

You can also search for scholarly articles using Google Scholar and configure it to access content provided by the UA Libraries.

Learn how to conduct a literature review. 

It's important to cite sources and credit others when you use parts of their work. These library guides and tutorials can help!

• Giving Credit to the Ideas of Others (tutorial)
• Guide to avoiding plagiarism
• How do I paraphrase correctly?
• Citing your sources

Need more help? Email News Research Specialist and Journalism Librarian Mary Feeney.