Encyclopedias and general knowledge sites like Wikipedia can be valuable for finding background information and expanding your knowledge about your topic.
But they should not be the only source used for your research.
Past and present newspapers can be valuable resources. They represent primary sources that can reveal how any given event was received at the time at which it occurred. This provides insights into opinions and attitudes that people held toward certain topics.
Now more than ever, while a news source may come from a reliable database, it is still important to critically evaluate its content. Learn how to evaluate your sources' credibility and identify "fake news."
Find full page images of articles and other content from the New York Times from 2008 to 3 months ago.
Current full text of the Wall Street Journal newspaper back to 1984, with in-depth coverage of national & international finance and business as well as coverage of general news events.
Scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources are important parts of the academic research process.
These sources are written by and for experts in a particular field and use scholarly or technical language.
They are reviewed by multiple experts in the field of study before being accepted for publication, and tend to consist of longer articles about the topic. Scholarly/academic sources are very focused on specific topics and don't often provide background information on your topic.
There are scholarly books and journals on most topics, including whatever majors you're interested in. To search for journals specific to your subject, go to our A-Z database List and click "Search by Subject."
Working on your assignment off-campus?
You may encounter some difficulty. Learn how to get around these access issues in this video:
Accessing Scholarly Journals from Off-Campus
Find peer-reviewed journals, full text periodicals, reports, and books across multiple subjects.
Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, and technical reports. To set up access to UA Libraries full text from off campus or export to a citation manager, click "Additional Info" below.
Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.
Popular sources are the types of sources we are most likely to come across or interact with on a daily basis.
These types of resources are written by and for a general audience that does not have any extensive prior knowledge on its subject, and are not peer-reviewed.
Your friend's blog? Popular source. BuzzFeed? Popular source. Twilight? Popular source. You get the picture.
(But when in doubt, refer to our tutorial: Popular vs Scholarly Sources).
Find backfiles of both the U.K. and U.S. editions of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to the present. This material provides a powerful lens into international fashion, as well as popular culture and society.
Find scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Find streaming recordings of global and world music in a variety of genres and languages.
Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442
University Information Security and Privacy
© 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona.
