LibGuides: Classics: Get started

Your Librarian

Source documents

Talmud Text Database This link opens in a new window
Find all of the surviving manuscripts of the Babylonian Talmud and first printed editions.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window
Find extensive and detailed dictionary entries of the Latin language covering the classical period up to about 600 A.D.in the largest Latin dictionary in the world.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Find the classics of Greek and Latin literature represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts.
You will need to create a personal account to use Thesaurus Linguae Graecae.
To view the texts in Greek, a polytonic Greek font must be installed on your computer.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Includes a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.

Thesaurus linguæ latinæ compendiarius by Ainsworth, Robert, 1660-1743.
Otherwise known as a compendious dictionary of the Latin tongue: designed for the use of the British nation.

Attalus
This site contains detailed lists of events and sources for the history of the Hellenistic world and the Roman republic. It includes links to online translations of many of the sources, as well as new translations of some works which have not previously been easily available in English.

Supplementum epigraphicum graecum
Access newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. Physical journals through 2012.

Encyclopedias & handbooks

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Spans every art form, medium, and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan to the fall of the Roman Empire.
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by Alexander P. Kazhdan
Find information on all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies and research guides by scholars in a range of subject areas, including Cinema & Media, International Relations, Literature, Classics, Medieval Studies, Latin American Studies, and more.
Brill's new Pauly This link opens in a new window
Access all volumes of Der Neue Pauly and Brill's New Pauly. This dual-language edition has a browsable alphabetical index in both German and English.
- Volumes 1-15 cover Greco-Roman antiquity from second millennium BC to early medieval Europe.
- Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) cover the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Explore More Journals