. Skip to Main Content

Citation Management Tools

About EndNote

EndNote is a citation management tool that can save you valuable research time. Use it to collect citations from databases, create personal reference libraries, and insert citations into Word documents to create in-text citations and reference lists. You can synchronize all the references in one desktop library to your EndNote Online library, and share the entire library with other EndNote users.

EndNote desktop features include:

  • Works with Microsoft Word so you can add citations to your papers as you write.
  • 3,300+ bibliographic styles like APA, MLA, Chicago
  • Captures web pages and creates citations for them 
  • Downloads and stores full text articles as PDFs
  • Unlimited reference and file attachment storage, based on your computer's storage capacity

Getting Started with EndNote

UA Libraries provides a campus subscription to EndNote citation management software free to all UA students, faculty and staff. Install the desktop version (on either Macintosh and Windows machines) for best functionality. The web version (aka Web, Basic or Online) is useful but less powerful and can be more difficult to learn.

Install EndNote at UA:

  1. Desktop: Download software from the campus EndNote download site. 
  2. Online: Sign up for EndNote Web at www.myendnoteweb.com using your UA email address.
  3. Consult Introduction to EndNote for more information.
  4. For UA Campus help, contact Maribeth Slebodnik (Health Sciences) or Elizabeth Kline (Main Campus.)
  5. For customer support, contact Clarivate tech support (24/5): +1-800-336-4474,  Option 4, followed by option 1.

 

Getting started with EndNote:

MacOS: How to use EndNote 20 in Seven Minutes
Windows: How to use EndNote 20 in Seven Minutes
See the document below for additional information about using EndNote on a Macintosh machine

Configuring EndNote to Find Full Text

Setting up your EndNote "Find Full Text" preferences will allow you to find the full text of articles purchased by the University of Arizona Libraries' and attach the article's PDF to their corresponding citation in your EndNote library.

On a Mac, go to the toolbar under: EndNote/Preferences > Find Full Text

On a PC, go to the toolbar under:  Edit/Preferences > Find Full Text

 

EndNote find full text configuration

 

  1. Make sure the the DOI and OpenURL checkboxes are checked.
  2. Copy and paste this URL to the "OpenURL Path" text box:
    https://arizona-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01UA/01UA?
  3. Copy and paste this URL to the "Authenticate with" text box: 
    https://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login
  4. Select OK.