"A technical report (also scientific report) is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research or the state of a technical or scientific research problem. It might also include recommendations and conclusions of the research. Unlike other scientific literature, such as scientific journals and the proceedings of some academic conferences, technical reports rarely undergo comprehensive independent peer review before publication. They may be considered grey literature. Where there is a review process, it is often limited to within the originating organization. Similarly, there are no formal publishing procedures for such reports, except where established locally." - from Wikipedia
Science.gov
Includes 200 million pages of science information and R&D results for 36+ U.S. government agencies
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
Has historical government agency technical reports.. TRAIL currently contains the following report series: https://trailguides.crl.edu/series
Students, faculty, and staff have full access to the ASTM and IEEE standards databases. The Accuris database can be searched to find other current standards. Any standard that is needed for a class project or research can be acquired for UA faculty, staff, or students by contacting Paula Johnson for assistance. Please send the standard number, title and any other useful information to pcjohnson@arizona.edu.
The library has access to ASTM and IEEE standards (see links below). ASTM develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems and services. IEEE standards cover electrical engineering, and computer science, electronics and allied fields.
NIST, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, is an agency of the United States Department of Commerce promotes American innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing standards, measurement science, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve quality of life.They offer the NIST Standards Incorporated by Reference (SIBR) Database - a searchable collection of standards referenced in regulations - Voluntary consensus standards, government-unique standards, industry standards, and international standards referenced in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).
To search for military standards, the Department of Defense has the ASSIST database.One needs to register to use the database.
Want learn more about Standards? Take this informational tutorial!
A patent is the intellectual property right granted by the U.S. Government to an inventor "to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the U.S. or importing the invention into the U.S." for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted. In most cases, this is twenty years from the date of application. In some situations, the term of the patent may be extended due to delays in the processing of the application. After the patent has expired, the invention becomes public domain. In addition, patent owners must pay a maintenance fee at 3.5, 7.5, and 11.5 years after issue or else the patent will expire.
How to Read a U.S. Patent from Queen's University Library provides a detailed description of the sections of a U.S. patent.
Utility patent: Describes a new and useful process, machine, article of manufacture, or composition of matter, or useful improvement thereof (i.e. what something does)
Design patent: A new, original, and ornamental design for an article of manufacture (i.e. how something looks)
Plant patent: Describes an asexually reproduced distinct and new variety of plant (e.g. ‘NuMex Heritage 6-4’ New Mexican Chile Pepper)
Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442
University Information Security and Privacy
© 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona.
