Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Inclusive, Culturally Relevant, and Culturally Competent Teaching

Reference Books

Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & Culture Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by Guido Bolaffi (Editor); Peter Braham (Editor);  Sandro Gindro (Editor); Tullio Tentori (Editor); Raffaele Bracalenti (Editor). 2002.

 

 

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and SocietyEncyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Richard T. Schaefer (Editor). 2008.

 

 

 

Handbook of Intercultural TrainingHandbook of Intercultural Training by Dan Landis; Janet M. Bennett; Milton J. Bennett. 2003.

 

 

 

 

Handbook of International and Intercultural CommunicationHandbook of International and Intercultural Communication by William B. Gudykunst (Editor); Bella Mody (Editor). 2001.

 

 

 

Redefining CultureRedefining Culture by John R. Baldwin (Editor); Sandra L. Faulkner (Editor); Michael L. Hecht (Editor); Sheryl L. Lindsley (Editor). 2005.

 

 

 

 

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural CompetenceThe SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by Janet M. Bennett (Editor). 2015.

 

 

 

Teaching Resources

Joyful Learning Joyful Learning: Active and Collaborative Strategies for Inclusive Classrooms by Alice Udvari-Solner and Paula M. Kluth. 2017.

 

 

 

 

Teaching across cultural strengths : a guide to balancing integrated and individuated cultural frameworks in college teaching Teaching across cultural strengths : a guide to balancing integrated and individuated cultural frameworks in college teaching by Alicia Fedelina Chavez. 2016.

 

 

 

 

The Culturally Inclusive Educator: Preparing for a Multicultural World The Culturally Inclusive Educator: Preparing for a Multicultural World by Dena R. Samuels. 2014.

 

 

 


 

Multicultural Science Education : Preparing Teachers for Equity and Social JusticeMulticultural Science Education : Preparing Teachers for Equity and Social Justice by Mary M. Atwater, Malcolm B. Butler, and Melody Russel. 2013

 

 


 

Connecting teachers, students, and standards strategies for success in diverse and inclusive classroomsConnecting teachers, students, and standards strategies for success in diverse and inclusive classrooms by Deborah L. Voltz, Michele Jean Sims, and Betty Palmer Nelson. 2010.

 

 

Strategies and resources for teaching and learning in inclusive classroomsStrategies and resources for teaching and learning in inclusive classrooms by Paul Gardner. 2012.

 

 

 

 

Multicultural education : a source bookMulticultural education : a source book by Patricia G. Ramsey, Leslie R. Williams, and Edwina Battle Vold. 2003.

 

 

 

 

Culturally responsive teaching and the brain : promoting authentic engagement and rigor among culturally and linguistically diverse students

Culturally responsive teaching and the brain : promoting authentic engagement and rigor among culturally and linguistically diverse students by Zaretta Hammond. 2015.

 

 

 

How to talk about hot topics on campus : from polarization to moral conversationHow to talk about hot topics on campus : from polarization to moral conversation by Robert J. Nash, DeMethra LaSha Bradley, and Arthur W. Chickering. 2008.

 

 

 

 

Multiculturalism on Campus : Theory, Models, and Practices for Understanding Diversity and Creating Inclusion Multiculturalism on Campus : Theory, Models, and Practices for Understanding Diversity and Creating Inclusion by Michael J. Cuyjet, Mary F. Howard-Hamilton, Diane L. Cooper, and Chris Linder. 2016.

 

 

 

Building Cultural CompetenceBuilding Cultural Competence by Kate Berardo, Fons Trompenaars, Darla K. Deardorff, Kate Berardo, and Mr Fons Trompenaars. 2012.

 

 

 

Planning Effective InstructionPlanning Effective Instruction by Kay M. Price; Karna L. Nelson. 2013.

 

 

 

 

Special Issue: New Directions for Teaching and LearningSpecial Issue: New Directions for Teaching and Learning, March 2019, Vol.2019.

Teaching Resources on the Web

Blue and yellow sunshine logo
Designing Culturally Inclusive Classrooms
University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia

 

Cover of the special reportFaculty Focus Special Reports. Higher Ed Teaching Strategies from Magna Publications.
Free PDF downloads of reports on academic leadership, educational assessment, instructional design, online education, teaching & learning, and teaching with technology.