LibGuides: Open Access: OA Repositories

Scholarly Communication Librarian

UA Repositories

The UA Campus Repository is an institutional repository that facilitates access to the research, creative works, publications and teaching materials of the University by collecting, sharing and archiving content selected and deposited by faculty, researchers, staff and affiliated contributors.

The UA Faculty Publications collection includes the published articles and final accepted manuscripts submitted by UA faculty under the UA Open Access Policy. The collection also includes books, book chapters, book reviews, presentations, data, and other scholarly materials submitters have opted to make available in the repository.

The University of Arizona's Research Data Repository (ReDATA) serves as the institutional repository for non-traditional scholarly outputs resulting from research activities by University of Arizona researchers. Depositing research materials (datasets, code, images, videos, etc.) associated with published articles and/or completed grants and research projects into ReDATA helps UA researchers ensure compliance with funder and journal data sharing policies as well as University data retention policies. ReDATA is designed for materials intended for public availability.

Pre-Print and Subject Repositories

Directory of Open Access Preprint Repositories

The Directory of Open Access Preprints Repositories (DOAPR) provides a list of preprint repositories that are available to the research community. It helps researchers and other interested parties to find the most appropriate platform for them.

Directory of Preprint Server Policies and Practices

Directory of 60+ preprint servers describing their disciplinary scope, policies, governance, licensing, archiving strategies and much more.

AgEcon
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including Working papers, Conference papers, and journal articles.
arXiv
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
BioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
ChemRxiv
ChemRxiv - a free online submission, distribution, and archival service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas - is operated by the American Chemical Society.
ChoralWiki
ChoralWiki hosts public-domain scores of more than 22,200 choral and vocal works by 2,600-plus composers. Users may search by composer and title and can conduct broader searches using pull-down options to select specific score categories, including sacred and secular genres, voicing, and accompaniment.
Cogprints
CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behavior genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
CORE: Open Access for the Humanities
CORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the Humanities. CORE is an open access repository and part of the Humanities Commons (https://hcommons.org/).
E-LIS
Established in 2003, e-LIS is an international digital repository for Library and Information Science (LIS), including Communication. It has grown thanks to a team of volunteer editors that support 22 languages.
Earth-prints Repository
Earth-Prints is an open archive created and maintained by Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia. This digital collection allows users to browse, search and access manuscripts, journal articles, theses, conference materials, books, book-chapters, web products. The goal of our repository is to collect, capture, disseminate and preserve the results of research in the fields of Atmosphere, Cryosphere, Hydrosphere and Solid Earth.
EarthArXiv
Preprints and postprints for the Earth Sciences
Law Archive
Law Archive is a free online archive of working papers, preprints, and fully published papers focusing on legal scholarship. Law Archive was developed in 2023 and formally launched in 2024 by the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School in collaboration with the Center for Open Science.
Law Commons
Portal of legal scholarship made available through bepress Digital Commons repositories. Includes journal-published content, working papers, books, law school publications, government materials, etc.
Law Review Commons
Collection of law reviews and legal journals made available through bepress Digital Commons repositories.
LIS Scholarship Archive (LISSA)
A free, open scholarly platform for library and information science.
MediArXiv
Open Archive for Media, Film, and Communication Studies. Visit mediarxiv.com for more information.
medRxiv
Preprints in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.
Mindscape Commons
Mindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs. It’s also collaborative in nature, so faculty and researchers can create member profiles, upload their projects, and connect with others.
National Bureau of Economic Research
The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
Optica Open
Optica Open is a free, open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in the areas of optics and photonics. Authors can quickly disseminate their preprint to a wide audience and gain community feedback on a timestamped draft version of their research. All submissions will be screened prior to acceptance, and those that do not meet Optica Open’s criteria will be declined.
OSF Preprints
If there isn’t a community-driven preprint server for your discipline, OSF Preprints is available for any discipline. All preprints submitted to OSF Preprints and community preprint services are indexed by major search engines, Google Scholar, and SHARE.
PhilArchive
PhilArchive is the largest Open Access Archive in philosophy. PhilArchive was first launched in 2009 as the PhilPapers Archive, the archive integrated into the PhilPapers bibliographic database.
PhilSci Archive
PhilSci-Archive's goal is to preserve and foster the rapid exchange of new work in philosophy of science. PhilSci-Archive follows the same principles of openness and critical exchange that underlie pre-print archives in physics (arXiv) and biology (biorXiv). Preprints and postprints posted on the archive are restricted to those in philosophy of science or related material of interest to professional philosophers of science.
PsyArXiv
A free preprint service for the psychological sciences, maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
RePEc is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 79 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable.
SocArXiv
SocArXiv -- the open access, open source archive of social science -- was created in partnership with the Center for Open Science. SocArXiv provides a free, noncommercial service for rapid sharing of academic papers; it is built on the Open Science Framework, a platform for researchers to upload data and code as well as research results.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is an open-access online pre-print community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN has branched out into other science disciplines providing opportunities for scholars to post their early research, collaborate on theories and discoveries, and get credit for their ideas before peer reviewed publication.
TechRxiv
Open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.

Data Repositories

Visit the UA Library Research Data Management Services website to learn more about sharing and managing research data, funding agency requirements, data management plans, and more.

ReDATA
The University of Arizona's Research Data Repository (ReDATA) serves as the institutional repository for non-traditional scholarly outputs resulting from research activities by University of Arizona researchers. Depositing research materials (datasets, code, images, videos, etc.) associated with published articles and/or completed grants and research projects into ReDATA helps UA researchers ensure compliance with funder and journal data sharing policies as well as University data retention policies.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)
Re3data offers detailed information about more than 2,000 research data repositories.
Dataverse Project
Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
Dryad
Dryad is a nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature.
Figshare
Figshare is a repository where users can make their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner.
Open Science Framework (OSF)
Developed by the Center for Open Science , OSF is a data repository and cloud-based management platform for your projects. Learn more through the Open Science Framework @ UofA
Zenodo
A general purpose open access repository developed under the European OpenAIRE program and operated by CERN.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Open Access

Scholarly Communication Librarian

UA Repositories

Pre-Print and Subject Repositories

Data Repositories

Visit the UA Library Research Data Management Services website to learn more about sharing and managing research data, funding agency requirements, data management plans, and more.

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Open Access

Scholarly Communication Librarian

UA Repositories

Pre-Print and Subject Repositories

Data Repositories

Visit the UA Library Research Data Management Services website to learn more about sharing and managing research data, funding agency requirements, data management plans, and more.

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect