Responding to COVID-19: You can chat and email with us daily! Mon-Thu 7am-7pm, Fri 7am-6pm, Sat 11am-6pm, and Sun 1pm-6pm. But due to COVID-19, all University Libraries buildings are currently closed, and we're not accepting any new hold/pickup or scanning requests for physical items. See details on library changes and support.
Welcome to UA Libraries! The buildings are torn apart, but we are still open and want to serve you.
You may use print reference materials in the Library, but unfortunately they may not be checked out. If there are sections of these resources you would like to access outside the library building, we have free scanners to copy your pages to a file that you can send to yourself, or save to a USB.
You can use the library search tool to look across multiple formats for content you could use. Use the drop-down to limit your results to Book, Articles, Conference Proceedings, etc. Once you have run your search, you can narrow down your results even further by the options to the left of your result set. For example, you can get only print materials by checking off the "in the library" option.
Databases are commercial products that sell us access to the digitized contents of thousands of academic journals, as well as sometimes standards, conference papers, videos and more. All databases will include citation information and an abstract - along with either the full text of the item cited, or a link out to search for the full text. If the link resolver finds the full text in a different database, it will link you to it. If it can't find full text, you will need to decide if you can wait to receive the contents and request it via Inter-Library Loan. If you need something right away, there will almost always be equally good alternative full text options.
For STEM, these are some good databases:
EI Compendex (engineering of all kinds)
IEEE Explore (electrical engineering and computer science focus)
Web of Science (cross-disciplinary)
Nano (everything about nanomaterials and devices)
A list of all databases is found here: Library databases -- you can sort them by subject using the drop-down.