Covers literature in complementary and alternative medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, speech and language therapy, and palliative care.
NOTE: Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Find articles, books, and reports on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
Finding the Full-Text of Articles
Note: When you are off campus you will be prompted to login with your UA NetID and Password for access.
Optimize getting to the full text:
If you are using PubMed or any other library database, we recommend that you access it through the library website in the "Top databases" section of the homepage or under Recommended in the "See Health Databases" section. When you are viewing a PubMed article record, this will provide you with a linked icon that says “A Find Article” to take you to the full text of an article based on the library’s subscriptions or if it is open access.
Other library subscription databases (e.g., Embase, Cochrane Library, Scopus) should also have links/icons that direct you to full text based on the library’s subscriptions or if it is open access.
If you are using Google Scholar (GS), customize your settings to display library links for your institution.
On the GS page, click on the hamburger icon (three horizontal bars) to the left of “My Profiles” and dropdown to select “Settings”. Click on Library links from the left menu.
Type in the search box: University of Arizona. Tick the box for “University of Arizona- Full-Text@UofA Libraries” and then click the Save button.
With these settings, you should see “Full-Text@UofA Libraries” link to the right of some of your GS search results. Click on that link to get to the full text.
Get a working URL: If you have a link to the publisher’s page for an article or a bookmarked URL on hand that is not working or asking you to pay, you may use the following page to get a library URL that should take you to the full text based on the library’s subscriptions: https://new.library.arizona.edu/proxy-url
Library Search: This is the library's search discovery tool that allows you to search for a variety of materials in the library collection. Access the Library Search off the homepage of the library's website.
You may use it to search for the full text of an article of interest. Input the the title of the article in the search box, drop down to select title and then run the search. If you see a result that matches the article of interest you searched for and there is a note "Available online" in the record then the full text is available by following the links provided. If there is no indication that it is available online, you may use Interlibrary Loan (see further details below).
Journal Search: You may search for the name of the journal to see if you have access. There are several ways to search including using the Library Search box, dropdown to select title and enter the journal's name. You may also click on "Find A Journal" located underneath the search box on the library website's homepage. Some journal subscriptions may span different subscriptions and years of coverage. Be sure to click on the record to see what's available and for links to access. You may then drill down through year, volume, issue, pages to locate the article of interest.
Interlibrary Loan: If the library does not have full text access to an article you are interested in, you may use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. The library will get an electronic version of the article from another library and send that to you.