Integrative Nursing

These tools focus on providing clinical answers that are grounded in evidence-based practice, and include many articles that focus on integrative health and wellness. You'll find comprehensive information on:

• drugs
• diseases & procedures
• treatments
• differential diagnosis
• practice guidelines
• patient education

PubMed, CINAHL and Embase are rich resources about many aspects of integrative health. Here are additional databases with an integrative focus: 

AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)

Find research in alternative medicine. NOTE: Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

Cochrane Reviews
Contains systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, including systematic nursing reviews. You can search and view both the abstract and the full text of the systematic reviews.

Natural Medicines

Find evidence-based clinical information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

American Botanical Council resources 

Information on herbal medicine, including resources such as Commission E Monographs and the HerbMedPro database. 

American Holistic Nurses Association

The Mission of the American Holistic Nurses Association is to illuminate holism in nursing practice, community, advocacy, research and education. 

Andrew Weil Center for Integrative Medicine

The Andrew Weil Center for Integrative Medicine is internationally recognized for its innovative educational programs, evidence-based clinical practice, and research. 

Herbs at a Glance 

A series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals. 

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health 

NIH Center that supports research and provides information about complementary health products, practices and funded research. Includes a list of clinical practice guidelines and research results.

World Health Organization (WHO) - Traditional, Complementary and Integrative Medicine

Includes WHO collaborations, terminologies and training standards for traditional medicines and links to many WHO reports and publications.