Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Arizona

HPS 350 Principles of Health Education and Health Promotion

A introductory course to the discipline and profession of health education.

Article (Literature) Databases

Agricola
‚Äč
Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of agriculture from 15th century to the present.
Allied and Complementary Medicine Database

Database covering a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine from 1985 to the present.
CAB Abstracts

Citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings and books in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and natural resources; from 1910 - present.

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines such as anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, cognitive science, media, computer science, sociology, medicine, and the law.

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
The encyclopedia covers both qualitative and quantitative approaches to social science and social measurement. It is illustrated with tables and figures of actual data sets.

ERIC
Indexing, abstracts, and some full text of articles in over 1,000 education-related journals and ERIC documents (ED), from 1966-present.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
This database provides access to information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences.

Social Sciences Citation Index (included in Web of Knowledge)
Database of core journal articles and cited references in the social sciences from 1898 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and citations to articles in journals in sociology, family studies, women's studies, and related social sciences, as well as abstracts to dissertations, conference proceedings, and books, covering 1952-present.

SPORTDiscus
Index of journal/magazine articles, dissertations, and books about sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, nutrition and related topics from 1800 to the present.

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, including many peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered
include assessment, best practices, continuing education, curriculum development, school administration, and more.

Program Tools

The Community Tool Box - Program Development
The Community Tool Box is a global resource for free information on essential skills for building healthy communities. It offers more than 7,000 pages of practical guidance in creating change and improvement.
Healthy Communities Program - CDC (2008-2012)
CDC's Healthy Communities Program works with communities through local, state and territory, and national partnerships to improve community leaders and stakeholders' skills and commitments for establishing, advancing, and maintaining effective population-based strategies that reduce the burden of chronic disease and achieve health equity.
United We Serve
The federal agency charged with promoting and fostering volunteering and national service in America.