HPS 433 Global Health

Demographic and Health Surveys (Measure DHS)
The Demographic and Health Surveys program collects, analyzes and disseminates accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 200 surveys in over 75 countries.
European Health for All Database (HFA-DB)
Contains data on about 600 health indicators for Member States of the WHO European Region, including basic demographic and socioeconomic indicators; lifestyle- and environment-related indicators; mortality, morbidity and disability; hospital discharges; and health care resources, utilization and expenditure. The database is a helpful tool for international comparison and for assessing the health situation and trends in any European country in an international context.
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) - Statistics
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and its 192 members highlight information as one of the priority areas in fighting hunger and achieving food security.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. GHO covers global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, women and health, mortality and burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity, and health systems. Formerly WHOSIS.
Health, Nutrition and Population Data and Statistics - World Bank
This database contains international statistics for 250 indicators dealing with areas such as: health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data & Statistics
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
OpenELIS
The OpenELIS Foundation recognizes that the Laboratory Information System is a key infrastructure component necessary to track samples and specimens of public health interest from receipt through final test results. The final test results are often critical to proper treatment of patients and for surveillance activities to track the extent of, and response to public health risks.
OpenHIE
The OpenHIE community supports interoperability by creating a reusable architectural framework that introduces a service oriented approach, maximally leverages health information standards, enables flexible implementation by country partners, and supports interchangeability of individual components.
OpenMRS
Is a software platform and a reference application which enables design of a customized medical records system with no programming knowledge (although medical and systems analysis knowledge is required). It is a common platform upon which medical informatics efforts in developing countries can be built. The system is based on a conceptual database structure which is not dependent on the actual types of medical information required to be collected or on particular data collection forms and so can be customized for different uses
Organisation for Economic Development (OECD) iLibrary - Statistics
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
Pan American Health Organization Data (PAHO)
Health data and statistics for countries of the Americas.
UN Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

HealthMap brings together disparate data sources, including online news aggregators, eyewitness reports, expert-curated discussions and validated official reports, to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Through an automated process, updating 24/7/365, the system monitors, organizes, integrates, filters, visualizes and disseminates online information about emerging diseases in nine languages, facilitating early detection of global public health threats.

University of Arizona - Geospatial and Geographic Information System (GIS) Resources
GIS tools link data to maps.