LibGuides: AzAHEC COCER Fellowship: Clinical Resources

Practice Guidelines

National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines collected from universities, professional societies, government agencies (state, federal, international), medical centers, international agencies, managed care organization, and non-profit organizations.
more...less...
Content includes guideline summaries, links to full-text, and comparison of guidelines. Included guidelines must be developed, reviewed, or revised within the last 5 years.
Effective Health Care Program (AHRQ)
A program that provides research findings through the process of comparative effectiveness research, translation dissemination, and implementation.

Patient Information

MedlinePlus
Selected links to Web resources with authoritative health information for patients. Dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources. Guides to selected Web resources on over 400 health topics. Adam.com medical encyclopedia and drug information...
more...less...
...via the United States Pharmacopeia's Drug Information Volume II, "Advice for the Patient". Links to pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE database.
Patient Education (via ClinicalKey)
Patient information on the use of prescription drugs, treatments and conditions. Available in multiple languages.
CDC Health Topics A-Z
Health Topics A to Z provides a listing of disease topics found on the CDC Web site. Links include general information, data, and prevention programs.
Clinical Trials
Clinical studies sponsored primarily by the National Institutes of Health. For each study, there is a summary outlining the purpose, the disease or condition, the particular drug or therapy under study, the phase of the trial, the recruiting status...
more...less...
...the eligibility criteria for patient participation, location of the trial, information on whether patients are currently being recruited, and specific contact information.

(NOTE: Not all NIH trials are yet in the database. Plans are to include additional studies from other Federal agencies and the pharmaceutical industry in the future.)

Clinical Resources

MDConsult
MDConsult provides point of care information for clinicians. Information sources includes online books, journals, guidelines and images. Patient information is also included.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Databases are the single most authoritative resource for evidence-based medicine.
UpToDate
An online clinical information resource with emphasis on internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, and family practice.
AHSL EBM Search
Search engine that pulls data from different highly used evidence-based resources.

Drugs and Natural Medicine Resources

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
This database contains information on herbal and dietary supplements, including monographs giving synonyms, uses, safety, interactions, efficacy, mechanism of action, dosage and administration, cited references, and brand names.

Patient Education

ADA - Oral Health Topics
The oral health topics will provide you with information and resources about various issues related to you and your family's oral health care. Select from the category listing or choose from the alphabetical listing to find a specific topic.
MedlinePlus
Selected links to Web resources with authoritative health information for patients. Dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources. Guides to selected Web resources on over 400 health topics. Adam.com medical encyclopedia and drug information...
MedlinePlus - Mouth and Teeth Topics
Consumer health information from MedlinePlus on topics related to the mouth and teeth.
MedlinePlus - Dental Health
Consumer health information from MedlinePlus on topics related to dental health.
MedlinePlus - Gum Diseases
Consumer health information from MedlinePlus on topics related to gum diseases.
MedlinePlus - Oral Cancer
Consumer health infromation from MedlinePlus on topics related to oral cancer.
MedlinePlus - Smokeless Tobacco
Consumer health information from MedlinePlus on topics related to smokeless tobacco.
NIDCR
Oral health information from the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research.
CDC Health Topics A-Z
Health Topics A to Z provides a listing of disease topics found on the CDC Web site. Links include general information, data, and prevention programs..
ClinicalTrials.gov
Clinical studies sponsored primarily by the National Institutes of Health. For each study, there is a summary outlining the purpose, the disease or condition, the particular drug or therapy under study, the phase of the trial, the recruiting status...
Patient Education (via MD Consult)
Patient information on the use of prescription drugs, treatments and conditions. Available in English and Spanish. Includes general information, inpatient care information, discharge care instructions and AfterCare instructions.
UMHS Patient Education
Educational materials for patients and families. Up-to-date and accurate information about health-related topics (also available in Spanish in most cases), reviewed or written by UMHS experts...
more...less...
...Includes an A-Z listing of Health Topics and links to UMHS resource centers & services.
ADA Glossary
Dental Videos from ICYou
Health-related videos for patients.
Visual Medical Dictionary

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

AzAHEC COCER Fellowship: Clinical Resources

Comparative Effectivness Research

Practice Guidelines

Patient Information

Clinical Resources

Drugs and Natural Medicine Resources

Patient Education

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

AzAHEC COCER Fellowship: Clinical Resources

Comparative Effectivness Research

Practice Guidelines

Patient Information

Clinical Resources

Drugs and Natural Medicine Resources

Patient Education

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect