NASEP Research Guide

"A technical report (also scientific report) is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research or the state of a technical or scientific research problem. It might also include recommendations and conclusions of the research. Unlike other scientific literature, such as scientific journals and the proceedings of some academic conferences, technical reports rarely undergo comprehensive independent peer review before publication. They may be considered grey literature. Where there is a review process, it is often limited to within the originating organization. Similarly, there are no formal publishing procedures for such reports, except where established locally." - from Wikipedia

Science.gov
Includes 200 million pages of science information and R&D results for 36+ U.S. government agencies

• List of specialized U.S. government databases available for searching

• Search engine that works across all of the above U.S. gov't databases at the same time

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
Has detailed reports that include materials data, mathematical functions, time series, diffraction patterns, measurements, and much more. The data provided are from direct measurements. Among other historical technical reports, TRAIL currently contains the following report series: https://trailguides.crl.edu/series.

WorldWideScience.org
Also includes the information within Science.gov (listed above) and is a gateway to national and international scientific databases. You can search resources from 17 countries.

A technical standard is:

A specification of the design of particular goods, components or processes. Examples range from the gauges on bolts to the voltages of electronic equipment. Technical standards are needed to ensure compatibility. Everybody gains from their equipment being compatible with everybody else's.

You may search the Global IHS database to find current standards. It is a commercial website that sells these standards, but it may be easily searched using phrases or keywords.

Want to earn more about Standards? Take this informational tutorial!