Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Arizona Health Sciences Library Outreach: Consumer Health Information

Important Health Informational Sites

Genetics

Genetics Home Reference:
partnership of National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, Department of Health & Human Services, and Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications.

Mental Health

MedlinePlus

Medline Plus is the #1 Consumer Health Information Site. Search your health term and  learn more.

MedlinePlus Trusted Health Information for You: A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH National Institutes of Health

Search MedlinePlus:

Consumer Health Databases

PubMed Health (Clinical Effectiveness Information)
This database specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to questions "what works?" in medical and health care.
(Open.)

Complementary and Alternative Medicine Citation Index

The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). We are 1 of the 27 institutes and centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH) within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

(Open.)

HEAL (Health Education Assets Library)

Although the musculoskeletal examination is a valuable component of the overall physicall examination, the musculokeletal exam competencies are among the most difficult for students to master. This site provides videos and descriptions that help students learn general musculoskeletal exam performance skills more effectively.
(Open.)

Genetics Home Reference
Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
(Open.)

Household Products Database
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Updated on a daily basis. 
(Open.)

ACP Medicine
ACP Medicine is the first comprehensive reference to carry the name of the American College of Physicians. Developed to help busy physicians keep up with changing guidelines in primary care, ACP Medicine is a continually updated, evidence-based reference of internal medicine.  
(UA login required.)

CINAHL
CINAHL®, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature
(UA login required.)

Cochrane Library (EBP)
Cochrane reviews are unique because they are both produced by, and are relevant to, everyone interested in the effects of human health care. Based on the best available evidence, healthcare providers can decide if they should dunf production of a particular drug. Practicioners can find out if and intervention is effective in a specific clinical context. Patients and other healthcare consumers can assess the potential risks and benefits of treatments.
(UA login required.)

Medline with Full-Text

MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature. Database users can choose Publication Type in the Limits area and scroll down to select Patient Education Handout.
(UA login required.)

Ovid
The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains well over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, including more than 130,000 population-related journal citations (unique to the former POPLINE® database) that were added to MEDLINE in October of 2002. Although coverage is worldwide, most records are derived from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Abstracts are included for more than 75% of the records
(UA login required.)

STAT!Ref

A clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks. 
(UA login required.)

Prescription Medication

Statistics and Data

Worldometers 

Worldometer gathers statistics and data from recognized national and international organizations like the UN, WHO and OECD. Each counter has a specific set of sources.

Program Guides

Below is an example list of Evidence-Based Practice Resources from AHRQ's Effective Health Care Program. AHRQ's EHC Program's mission is to help consumers make better treatment choices.

To view the entire list, go here:
Guides for Patients and Consumers

Effective Health Care Program Guides

Below is an example list of Evidence-Based Practice Resources from AHRQ's Effective Health Care Program. AHRQ's EHC Program's mission is to help consumers make better treatment choices.

To view the entire list, go here:
Guides for Patients and Consumers