Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Arizona Health Sciences Library Outreach: Health Information in different languages

Resources with Items in Multiple Languages

EthnoMed
http://ethnomed.org(link is external)
Cultural Competency Resources and Patient Education Materials for: Amharic, Cambodian, Chinese, Eritrean, Ethiopian, Oromo, Somali, Spanish, Tigrean, Vietnamese and others.

Health Info Translations
http://www.healthinfotranslations.com/(link is external)
Use the drop-down box to choose a language - Chinese Simplified and Traditional, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Ukrainian, Hindi, Vietnamese, and Arabic

Health Translations Online Directory
http://www.healthtranslations.vic.gov.au/(link is external)
From Australia, this database contains links to government, hospital, community health center and other agency online multilingual resources in numerous languages.

Healthy Roads Media
http://www.healthyroadsmedia.org(link is external)
Provides audio, written and multimedia versions of resources in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Arabic, Somali, Bosnian, Russian, Hmong, and Khmer.

HIV AIDS and Hepatitis C Website
http://www.mhahs.org.au/(link is external)
From Australia, this website provides HIV/AIDS and hepatitis C information in the following languages: Amharic, Arabic, Bosnian, Burmese, Chinese, Croatian, English, Indonesian, Italian, Khmer, Portuguese, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, and Vietnamese.

Immunization Action Coalition -- Print Materials in Other Languages
http://www.immunize.org/catg.d/noneng.htm(link is external)
Vaccine Information Sheets, produced by the Center for Disease Control, are available in over 30 languages.

La Leche League
http://www.llli.org/resources/otherlanguages.html?m=0,0,4(link is external)
Breastfeeding information in 12 languages.

Mass General Hospital's Point to Talk Booklets
http://www.massgeneral.org/interpreters/resources/talk.aspx(link is external)

MedlinePlus Health Information in Multiple Languages
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/languages/languages.html(link is external)
Information in over 46 languages from the National Library of Medicine's premier consumer health website.

New South Wales Multicultural Health Communication Service
http://www.mhcs.health.nsw.gov.au(link is external)
A rich resource with numerous health topics that provide health information in 50 languages.

U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
http://refugees.org/research-reports/(link is external)
Culturally appropriate material for consumers and health care-related professionals, in 19 languages.

Health Information Translations

Health Info Translations
Use the drop-down box to choose a language - Chinese Simplified and Traditional, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Ukrainian, Hindi, Vietnamese, and Arabic

Health Translations Online Directory
From Australia, this database contains links to government, hospital, community health center and other agency online multilingual resources in numerous languages.

CDC Resources in Languages Other than English

Health Information in different languages

Health Information in Multiple Languages

This information portal leads to health resources from across NIH for selected priority health areas. The languages for each condition are chosen to reach populations with particular health disparities. Note that racial and ethnic indicators are based on the research data cited. Additional resources will continue to be added as they become available.

Cancer

Cardiovascular Disease (CVD)

Dementia

Diabetes

HIV/AIDS

Immunizations

Infant Mortality

Mental Health

Substance Abuse

Resources for Specific Languages

American Sign Language

MedlinePlus - Health Information in American Sign Language
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/languages/asl.html(link is external)
Provides 30 videos from Health Information Translations.

Arabic

MedlinePlus
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/languages/arabic.html(link is external)

Cambodian/Khmer

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
http://spiral.tufts.edu/khmer_index.html(link is external)
Provides consumer information in Cambodian/Khmer, (in addition to Chinese, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, Thai, and Vietnamese) and on a wide variety of Internet resources including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources.

Chinese

Health Information Translations
http://www.healthinfotranslations.com/(link is external)
From the Ohio State Medical Center, includes health information and hospital signage documents. Languages include: Arabic, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Tradition, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese Brazillian, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Ukranian and Vietnamese.

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
http://spiral.tufts.edu/chinese_index.html(link is external)
Provides consumer information in Chinese, (as well as Cambodian/Khmer, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, Thai, and Vietnamese and on a wide variety of Internet resources including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources.

French

Public Health Agency of Canada
http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/index-fra.php(link is external)
PHAC's primary goal is to strengthen Canada's capacity to protect and improve the health of Canadians and to help reduce pressures on the health-care system.

CiSMeF Patients
http://www.chu-rouen.fr/cismef/(link is external)
Catalog and Index of French Language Health Resources on the Internet is a quality-controlled health gateway to catalog and index the most important and quality-controlled sources of institutional health information in French.

German

Welt der Gesundheit
http://www.gesundheit.com(link is external)
From AIDS to Zappelphilipp syndrome (or ADHD), this site gives information on hundreds of health topics in German.

Patienten-Informationsdienst
http://www.patienten-information.de(link is external)
The portal offers over 1000 reliable sources of consumer health information in German.

Medicine-Worldwide
http://www.medicine-worldwide.de(link is external)

Hmong

Hmong Health Website
http://www.hmonghealth.org(link is external)
The goal of the Hmong Health Education Network's website is to provide access to health information for Hmong people and those who provide health, education and social services to the Hmong community. Categories of topics include family health, healthy living, traditional healing, talking with health providers, and more.

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
http://spiral.tufts.edu/hmong_index.html(link is external)
Provides consumer information in Hmong (as well as Cambodian/Khmer, Chinese, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, Thai, and Vietnamese) and on a wide variety of Internet resources including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources.

Korean

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
http://spiral.tufts.edu/korean_index.html(link is external)
Provides consumer information in Korean (as well as Cambodian/Khmer, Chinese, Hmong, Laotian, Thai, and Vietnamese) and on a wide variety of Internet resources including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources.

Laotian

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Language
http://spiral.tufts.edu/laotian.shtm(link is external)l
Provides consumer information in Laotian (as well as Cambodian/Khmer, Chinese, Hmong, Korean, Thai, and Vietnamese) and on a wide variety of Internet resources including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources.

Russian

Health Information Translations
https://www.healthinfotranslations.org/language/russian/275021/(link is external)

Thai

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
http://spiral.tufts.edu/thai_index.html(link is external)
Provides consumer information in Thai (as well as Cambodian/Khmer, Chinese, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, and Vietnamese) and on a wide variety of Internet resources including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources.

Vietnamese

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
http://spiral.tufts.edu/vietnamese_index.html(link is external)
Provides consumer information in Vietnameses (as well as Cambodian/Khmer, Chinese, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, and Thai) and on a wide variety of Internet resources including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources.