Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Arizona

Performing Arts

Archival collections housed in Special Collections

Theater-related Archival Collections

Anton Mazzonovich Papers 1885-1934 AZ 015  The collection contains correspondence, diary, newspaper clippings, articles, theater programs, photographs, and other materials relating to Anton Mazzanovich's experiences in Arizona and New Mexico, and his theatrical activities in New York. The materials date from 1885-1934, with the bulk of materials dating from 1924 through 1934.

Jill Corey Collection, 1953-2004 MS 476  This collection contains magazines, newspapers, sheet music, photographs, DVDs, CDs, records, and other documents relating to the life of Jill Corey. Jill Corey was a famous singer, television star, film actress, and radio personality in the 1950s and 1960s. In the latter half of the twentieth century she made a name for herself in musical theatre. Materials pertaining to both careers are found in the collection.

Odell Sneden Hathaway Theater Ledger Collection, 1910-1922 MS 514  Odell Sneden Hathaway was a governor of the International Theatrical Association as well as proprietor of several successful theaters located in the upper New York state and Upper Ohio regions. These theaters exhibited a myriad of entertainment forms to the public, including plays, burlesque shows, vaudeville acts, and motion pictures. This collection is comprised of seven ledgers from theaters owned by Odell Sneden Hathaway. Each ledger lists daily accounting totals which denote the name of the attraction, weather conditions, gross receipt totals, costs, payments, and accompanying notes.

Peter Wexler Papers, 1965-ongoing MS 338  The collection documents Peter Wexler's professional activity from 1967 to the present. The materials have been gathered into three series: Papers, Artwork, and Models. The center of the collection is the Artwork series that consists of large, blueprint size, mechanical drawings of floorplans and elevations of scenery for concerts, films, industrial shows, multi-media events, and theatrical productions. The bulk of the Papers series supports Peter Wexler and Peter Wexler Inc. projects in the Artwork series. The Papers series includes correspondence with clients and vendors, scripts, scores, and cue sheets, research, visual research through photos and photocopies. Correspondences include those with important persons in the field of Opera, Theatre and entertainment. The collection is inclusive of designs and artwork for original productions such as Godspell.

Reviews of Various Theatrical Activities, as Published in the Arizona Daily Star, 1954-1969 AZ 373  Photocopies of clippings. Includes corresponding reviews by Micheline Keating and Guy Thackeray of the Tucson Daily Citizen, motion picture reviews, and some articles relating to Mrs. Younge's participation in summer theaters elsewhere.

Sophie Treadwell Papers, 1905-1969 MS 124  Collection of typescript manuscripts, both published and unpublished; chiefly plays, but also novels, articles, stories, and television scripts. Several versions of each play are present. Also included is correspondence, copyrights, lectures, clippings, photographs of Treadwell, and travel diaries. Correspondents include friends, literary agents, producers, actors, actresses, and scene designers. Ephemera consists of travel brochures, postcards, a few watercolors, and two etchings of Austrian buildings. Most materials are English with a small amount in Spanish and German.

Theatre Programs Collection, 1881-1968 MS 469  This collection consists of programs of plays at various theatres starting as far back in 1881. All plays are in alphabetical order showing title of play, cast of characters, the director/s, date of opening show, with number of scenes. Some programs have actual ticket stubs attached to the programs.There are also playbills that were shown in England, France, and other foreign countries. There’s also plays from the Carolina Playmakers. Programs from the circus, . German language theater, some from individual performers, motion pictures, also one-act plays, the Pasadena community playhouse, U.S misc., various ballet companies. Included are playbills from Arizona, Arizona civic Theatre in Tucson, some from Arizona theatre company, Arizona Corral theatre, Chautauqua, motion pictures, the Play box, Rialto theatre, the Tucson Little theatre, Tucson Opera House, and there are misc. and various playbill from Tucson, Arizona.

William N. Damron, Jr. Scrapbooks, 1948-2011 MS 519  William N. Damron, Jr. is an independent entertainment professional whose involvement in the theatre arts has included acting, directing, wardrobe supervision, and costume design. Damron has documented his life in the form of scrapbooks, beginning with his childhood in Tucson and throughout his career in Colorado, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, and Southern Arizona. This collection contains William N. Damron, Jr.'s resumes, scrapbooks, and performance programs dated 1948 – 2006. His career, spanning more than forty years, has included work as a costume designer and wardrobe supervisor for prominent television and theatre productions, including the Academy Awards. Damron's fifteen scrapbooks begin when he was a kindergarten student and continue through 2006, spanning his years as a student at the University of Arizona and his work in Los Angeles.