Skip to Main Content
University of Arizona

Primary Sources on the History of Science

Geography

Diary of David Dodge Jr. (MS 047) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/diary-david-dodge-jr

Photocopy of a 35-page holographic diary by Dodge; it recounts his adventures beginning in New Bedford, Mass., aboard the whaling ship, "Russell," from 1831-1834. He describes the Pacific voyage including South American ports, whale hunting procedures, and the environmental importance of the Galapagos Islands. Also present is a typed transcription of the diary by John Dunklee and Alan Newton of the Geography Dept., University of Arizona. It contains an introduction with background information, annotations, and a map of the voyage.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS047.xml

 

The Papers of Phyllis and Weldon Heald (MS 359)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-phyllis-and-weldon-heald

Phyllis and Weldon Heald were free-lance writers who relocated to southeast Arizona from the northeast. They owned the Flying H Ranch in the Huachuca Mountains, and the Painted Canyon Ranch in the Chiricahua Mountains before settling down to write full-time in Tucson. They wrote books, articles, short stories, poems, plays and screenplays. Much of their writing was on the flora and fauna of the Southwest as well as historical sites in Arizona. Before his career as a writer, artist and photographer, Weldon worked as an architect. He wrote several books including, "Sky Island," and "The Arizona Scenic Guide." Phyllis began her career as a playwright and she continued to write plays with her husband. The Healds taught writing workshops at the Southwest Writers Conference in Flagstaff. Later in her career, Phyllis was a writing consultant for writers.

Most of the collection consists of manuscripts of various works by Phyllis and Weldon Heald. Also within the collection are articles, clippings, and miscellaneous materials about the Healds and other topics. The majority of the photographs were taken by the Healds during their travels throughout the Southwest. Other images were made by Stephan Blake, Manley photography, the Las Vegas News Bureau, or are reproductions from various historical societies. The photographs are of outdoor scenes taken throughout the Southwest.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS359.xml

 

Melvin Hecht Papers (MS 714) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/melvin-hecht-papers

The Melvin Hecht papers contain his professional research from 1950-1982. Included are research notes, newspaper clippings, maps, and photographic material focusing on the geography of southern Arizona, most of which was created during his time as a geography professor at the University of Arizona.

Collection Guide:  http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS714.xml

Geosciences

Paul S. Martin Papers (MS 442) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/paul-s-martin-papers

Paul Schultz Martin, a Pennsylvania native,earned a Ph.D. in Zoology in 1956 from University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. His early career aspiration to focus on collecting and studying plant and fossil specimens from tropical rainforests was cut short when he contracted polio at age 23 while in Mexico. He conducted postdoctoral research in Biogeography at Yale University from 1955-1956 and then at Université de Montreal from 1956-1957. In 1957, he moved to Tucson to accept a position as a Research Associate with University of Arizona’s Geochronology Laboratories. He held the position of Professor in the Department of Geosciences from 1968 until 1989 when he was named Emeritus Professor. He remained an active researcher and vital part of the Tumamoc Hill Desert Laboratory for more than 50 years.

Dr. Martin is well-known as a primary developer and leading expert on the subject of prehistoric overkill, a pattern of global extinction over the last 40,000 years which coincided with human colonization spreading out of Africa and Asia. His theories have been the subject of much debate since the 1960’s and have helped rejuvenate interest in the study of prehistoric extinctions. His fossil research led him to develop extinction models based on human activity as the main cause of the rapid extinctions of large animals such as the mammoth, mastodon and giant ground sloth. In addition, Dr. Martin conducted research about Pleistocene biotic changes in arid regions. 

Dr. Martin is the author of numerous books and articles, including The Last 10,000 Years: A Fossil Pollen Study of the American Southwest, Pleistocene Extinctions: The Search for a Cause, and Twilight of the Mammoths. His research gave him a unique, long range perspective on the mechanisms and impact of species extinction and environmental destruction. His dedication to ecological and social issues is reflected in his involvement with various efforts to protect endangered flora and fauna of the Southwest from potential human destruction.

This collection contains correspondence, research files, publication files, newspaper clippings and scrapbooks. The numerous boxes of correspondence files contain letters both written and received by Dr. Martin during of his professional career (principally covers the years 1975-1990). This material includes correspondence with various scientists, researchers, publishers, students and others. It includes research files consisting of varied material gathered in the course of scientific and professional research. Also contains copies of Dr. Martin’s National Science Foundation grant proposals, data on Southwestern fauna, efforts to stop the controversial construction of a telescope on Mount Graham, as well as other articles and newspaper clippings about varied topics.

The collection also includes records detailing data collected by Dr. Martin after the spraying of Agent Orange on the town of Globe, Arizona in 1969. The publication files contain copies of articles written by Dr. Martin over the course of his career, spanning from 1951-2006. The publication files also contain copies of reviews of Dr. Martin’s published works from various sources. The next series compiles newspaper clippings written about Dr. Paul S. Martin and his research during the years 1959-2000. The following series focuses on the Tumamoc Hill Desert Laboratory. Materials about flora and fauna of Tumamoc Hill are also present. Articles and photographs describing the history of Tumamoc Hill Desert Lab form another part of this series. Lastly, the various threats to the lab and its continued operation from the 1960’s through the early 2000’s are detailed through collected newspaper clippings. The final series of the collection consists of nine scrapbooks of newspaper clippings collected by Dr. Martin from 1951-1970 which detail political, social and ecological issues of the times.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS442.xml

Land Management

Willis A. Tingey Papers (AZ 558) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/willis-tingey-papers

Contains mainly documents created by Willis A. Tingey related to land management, area development and irrigation on the Navajo and Hopi Indian Reservations, Arizona and New Mexico.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ558.xml

Medicine (History of)

Dr. Cullen’s Practice of Physics, October 30, 1771 (MS 076)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/dr-cullens-practice-physics-october-30-1771

Scottish physician and professor of medicine and chemistry at the universities in Glasgow and Edinburgh; regarded as the father of graphic chain formulas.

One volume of handwritten lecture notes dated Oct. 30, 1771, addressed to medical students: the introductory sentence reads, "Gentlemen, I come here to deliver a course of Lectures on the Practice of Physic upon that part of our studies for which all the others are intended . . ." The entire text is written in one clear hand. The basic framework is a description of each disease and its symptoms, apparently a recounting of Cullen's earlier published work on the subject, Methodical Nosology, 1769. Following each description is a discussion of the medical treatment for that disease. Interspersed throughout are observations of specific patients, reports and opinions of colleagues, and Cullen's conclusions regarding etiology.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS076.xml

 

Formularium Medicamentorum (MS 127) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/formularium-medicamentorum

Bound manuscript containing medical formulas and remedies used in the late 18th century. Major categories: Ptisanae, Decocta, Potiones, Diluentes, Emulciones, Eclegmata sive lohoc, Detergentes, Purgantia et Laxantia, Hemetica, Pulveras, Opiata, Boli, Pilulae, Linimenta sive uncturae, Supositoria, Enemata, Gargarismata, Fotus, Epithema, and Cataplasmata. Under the heading Formulae Chirurgiae are alphabetically listed: Aquae, Balsama, Cataplasmata, Coliria, Digestiva, Decoctum, Emplastra, Fotus seu fomenta, Gargarismata, Injectiones, Linimenta, Pila, Pulveres, Unguenta, and Vina. Final categories encompass the following sections: Pro curatione ivis venereae, gonorrheae, et scorbutic; Bolus hipnoticus ad salivationem; and Bolus Diaphoreticus ad ptialismum. At the end, in the same hand, is a thorough index with each item's page number, an ornate decoration with the word "Finis," and a colophon.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS127.xml

 

Dr. Hugh H. Smith Collection http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/hugh-h-smith-md-collection

Medical books were given to the University of Arizona Library in 1958 by Hugh H. Smith, M.D., Research Professor of Microbiology and Medical Technology. The collection was transferred to the College of Medicine Library in the summer of 1969. The works date from the 17th to the 20th century and include such classics as a 1625 Celsus De re medica, a 1627 Hippocrates Aphorismi, a 1695 Sydenham Praxis medica experimentalis, and a 1765 Fracastoro Della sifilide. Eighteenth and 19th century works are rich in representation of medical progress in Scotland, England, and America. Twentieth century works show Dr. Smith's continuing interest in both history and public health, and include such items as Welch's Papers and addresses (1920), Blogg's Bibliography of Osler's writings (1921), and Viswanathan's The conquest of malaria in India (1958).

Collection Guide: http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/sites/default/files/hugh_hollingsworth_smith_collection_-_item_list_z_675_m4_a719h_1970_0_ocr.pdf

Medicine (History of Medicine in Arizona)

History of Medicine in Territorial Arizona (AZ 118)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/medicine-territorial-arizona

Frances E. Quebbeman was a Navy nurse and director of nursing at the Great Lakes Naval Training Station Hospital. Photocopy of typescript of original draft. Based on the author's Ph.D. dissertation, University of Arizona, 1966.

 

Persons in Arizona Medical History

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/persons-arizona-medical-history

Persons in Arizona Medical History is a compilation of nearly 4,000 persons with a connection to the history of medicine in Arizona or, in some cases, to other areas of the American Southwest and border region. Most of the persons lived sometime between the mid-1800s and the end of the 20th century, although here too there are some exceptions. Many were physicians or other health care professionals, but individuals in other professions and occupations with connections to Arizona’s medical history appear as well.

http://ahsl.arizona.edu/spec-coll/personal-names

 

Pima County Medical Society Minutes (MS 700)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/pima-county-medical-society-minutes

Spanning half a century, this collection begins during the Arizona Territorial period and continues through the era of the polio epidemic, the Korean War and the birth of television.The minutes of the Pima County Medical Society offer a detailed look into a broad range of medical, social, political and professional issues. Please see the Arizona Health Sciences website for a custom search tool. Related collection: Pima County Medical Society Minutes, 1974-1994 (HS   WB 1 AA7.1 P6 P644a ).

Online Exhibit: https://azmemory.azlibrary.gov/digital/collection/pcmsmin

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS700.xml

 

Prescriptions for Health, Pima County Medical Society

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/prescriptions-health

Originally a radio program (1980-1990), Prescription for Health also became a cable television program created by the Pima County Medical Society (PCMS). This public access program focused on providing in-depth medical information on a broad range of topics of interest to the general public. At least 284 episodes (and perhaps as many as 320) were produced from 1983 to 1997.

Online Exhibit:  https://azmemory.azlibrary.gov/digital/collection/ahslrx

Collection Guide:  http://ahsl.arizona.edu/spec-coll/pcms-pfh

  

Southern Arizona Biomedical Librarians Records (MS 691)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/southern-arizona-biomedical-librarians-records

Southern Arizona Biomedical Librarians (SABL) is an organization open to all persons interested in biomedical information or health science libraries. Its beginnings date back to an informal organizational meeting held on September 30, 1981. The objectives of the organization, as delineated in its July 2011 bylaws are 1) to facilitate communication and cooperation among its members, 2) to encourage and promote the utilization and sharing of health sciences library resources, 3) to promote continuing education of its members, 4) to cooperate with organizations that have similar or allied interests, and 5) to mentor individuals interested in entering the profession. Formerly collection number HT 0021.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS691.xml

 

Tucson-Arizona Sanatorium Records (AZ 323)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/tucson-arizona-sanatorium-records

Articles of incorporation; by-laws; minutes of organization meeting, June 8, 1914, and final meeting, May 31, 1918; letter from Arizona Corporation Commission, August 1918.

 

Records of the Tucson Clinic (MS 343) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/records-tucson-clinic

The Tucson Medical and Surgical Clinic first filed articles of incorporation on July 27, 1927. During the 1950’s and 1960’s the company began a business relationship with the Tucson Clinic, essentially a spin-off corporation, which was officially incorporated in March 1963. These papers document the formation and growth of the corporation from 1953-1985, until its sale in 1986 to the Thomas Davis Clinic. Photographic materials are also included in the collection, with some overlap with the activities of the Thomas Davis Clinic.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS343.xml

 

Correspondence of the Arizona State Nurses Association (AZ 399)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/correspondence-arizona-state-nurses-association

Letters to and from various officers of the association regarding finances, membership, meetings. Also requests for information about employment and nursing conditions in Arizona

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ399.xml

 

Dr. Orville Harry Brown, MD.  Paper http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/orville-harry-brown-md-collection

History of Arizona medicine; collections of Orville Harry Brown, M.D. Twelve volumes of correspondence, notes, articles, printed matter and other papers compiled by Orville Harry Brown, MD (1875-1943) related mainly to the history of Arizona medicine and medical practitioners of the Territory and State of Arizona. 

Collection Guide:  http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/sites/default/files/orville_harry_brown_md_history_of_arizona_medicine_collections_-_name-subject_index_volumes_1-12_revised_2015-12.pdf

Dr. Frederick J. Margolis Photographs (MS 693) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/frederick-j-margolis-photographs

This collection contains digital file images of color photographs taken (mostly) by Dr. Margolis between 1954-1956 in and around Fort Defiance, Arizona and in other locations in northern Arizona and northern New Mexico. The original photographic prints are not held in this collection; the PowerPoint is the source record from which digital file images are collected. Individual image files (JPEG format) were extracted from the PowerPoint and converted into TIFF-formatted files which are available upon request. To facilitate previewing, black and white PDF print surrogates are also included. Several publications highlighting the work of Dr. Margolis have also been included. Formerly collection number HT 0023.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS693.xml

 

Dr. Errol Wayne Palmer, Sr. Papers (MS 688) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/errol-payne-palmer-sr-papers

This collection contains materials which represent different facets of Dr. Palmer’s long and illustrious career in Phoenix, Arizona. This collection consists primarily of correspondence, speeches, writings and publications, and newspaper clippings. Formerly collection number HT 004.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS688.xml

 

Poison Register (AZ 433) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/poison-register

Holograph register; lists kind of poison, intended use, purchasers and pharmacist.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ433.xml

History of Medicine (History of Medicine at The University of Arizona)

Arizona Health Sciences Center Office of Public Affairs Records (MS 703)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/arizona-health-sciences-center-office-public-affairs-records

Contains mostly photographs from the Office of Public Affairs at the Arizona Health Sciences Center. Includes materials related to the founders, construction, faculty and students of the College of Medicine, outreach and public relations of the University Medical Center (UMC), and materials related to the College of Nursing, Diamond Children's Hospital, community events and services, and the January 8th, 2011 tragedy.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS703.xml

 

University of Arizona College of Medicine Founding Faculty Interviews

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/university-arizona-college-medicine-founding-faculty-interviews

Interviews made on the occasion of the University of Arizona College of Medicine's 40th Anniversary in 2007. Also includes photographs from the occasion and historic video footage.

http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS702.xml

 

University of Arizona, College of Medicine W 19 AA7 S433 1975

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/scrapbooks-relating-university-arizona-college-medicine

A collection of over 4,600 items (newspaper clippings predominantly) in four oversize volumes, chronicling events leading up to the founding of Arizona's first medical school and also its early history, 1957-1975. Detailed index available.

Collection Guide: http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/sites/default/files/index_to_ua_college_of_medicine_scrapbooks_1957-1975.pdf

 

Max Lee Morrison Boone Papers (MS 701)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/max-lee-morrison-boone-papers

Papers of medical doctor and physicist Max L.M. Boone, MD, PhD (May 23, 1931 - November 17, 1996). One of the founders of the University of Arizona Cancer Center. Includes professional research, publications, abstracts, correspondence and associated photographs and figures.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS701.xml

 

Merlin Kearfott Duval Papers (MS 689)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/merlin-kearfott-duval-jr-papers

This collection contains materials which span DuVal’s career beginning with the planning of the UA’s College of Medicine and continuing throughout the rest of his professional life and into his retirement and it is especially rich in materials dating from his time as HEW’s Assistant Secretary for Health (1971-1973). Formerly collection number HT 0008.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS689.xml

 

Arthur Jerome Papers (MS 707)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/arthur-jerome-present-papers

Biographical information related to Arthur Jerome Present, MD, Professor Emeritus of Radiology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine. Includes articles, awards, plaques, and photographs. Formerly collection number HT006.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS707.xml

 

Dr. Jack Malcolm Layton Papers (MS 692)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/jack-malcolm-layton-papers

Dr. Jack Malcolm Layton was a founding faculty member of the University of Arizona College of Medicine and was the first department head hired to the College of Medicine. On May 1, 1967 he became Professor and Head of the Department of Pathology and served in those capacities for 20 years. He was also Director of Clinical Pathology for the university’s hospital and from July 1, 1971 until early 1973 served as Acting Dean of the College of Medicine and Acting Director of the UA’s Arizona Medical Center while the founding dean, Merlin K. DuVal, served as Assistant Secretary of Health in the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare. This collection consists primarily of documents relating to the early history of the UA College of Medicine including its Department of Pathology, Layton’s Acting Deanship, and the Medical Service Plan and other clinical faculty matters. It also includes information about Layton’s career before he came to the UA, information about his professional society contributions, honors and awards he received, various presentations he made and it also includes some photographs. Formerly collection number HT 0022.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS692.xml

 

Dr. Augusto Ortiz Papers (MS 694) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/augusto-ortiz-papers

Dr. Augusto Ortiz lived and worked in Arizona most of his professional life from 1953 until his death in 2006. Throughout his career as a family practitioner and educator he worked to bring health care to the poor and underserved. In his earlier years he worked in private practice in the Phoenix area primarily serving a needy Hispanic population. In 1972 Dr. Ortiz moved to Tucson and established a mobile health program based out of the University of Arizona’s Rural Health Office which provided health care to many rural and underserved areas in southeastern Arizona. Areas of particular interest to him included community oriented primary care, migrant laborer health care, health education and folk medicine including herbal folk remedies and curanderismo. This collection contains Ortiz correspondence from over a 35-year period (1969-2004) as well as documents corresponding to each of the topics mentioned above including extensive documentation relating to the Mobile Health Program. The collection also includes Dr. Ortiz’s U.S. Surgeon General Medallion. Formerly collection number HT 0025.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS694.xml

 

Dr. Oscar Andreas Thorup Jr. Papers (MS 690) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/oscar-andreas-thorup-jr-papers

Dr. Thorup was at the UA College of Medicine from 1966 to 1974 where he served as a founding faculty member and established the college’s Department of Internal Medicine. The collection contains correspondence, annual reviews, reports, plans, and proposals relating to the early years of University of Arizona College of Medicine. Topics range from facilities planning and construction, curriculum, faculty promotion and tenure, clinical issues and hospital administrative matters. This collection was previously HT 0017.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS690.xml

 

Arizona Health Sciences Frankenstein Exhibit Records (MS 713)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/arizona-health-sciences-library-frankenstein-exhibition-records

Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature : A Traveling Exhibition to America's Libraries was an exhibit developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine in collaboration with the American Library Association. It was made possible by major grants from The National Endowment for the Humanities, Washington, D.C., and the National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, Md. The traveling exhibition was based upon a major exhibition produced by the National Library of Medicine in 1997-1998. [excerpted from the ALA Site Support Notebook, p.2.] AHSL staff information manual pertaining to the exhibit, exhibit planning notes, publicity materials, guestbook, notes, transcripts of introductions and a presentation, posters, budget and expenditures information, final report.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS713.xml

 

Library Faculty Assembly Records of the University of Arizona Health Sciences Library (MS 708) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/library-faculty-assembly-records-university-arizona-health-sciences-library

The bulk of the collection consists of records of the University of Arizona Health Sciences Library's library faculty governance body called the Library Faculty Assembly (LFA). The records consist primarily of agenda, minutes and other LFA documents dating from 1978 to 2015. In addition, there are several folders pertaining to the faculty status of University of Arizona librarians mostly dating from 1969 to 1983 and 1987 to 1989. Formerly collection number HT 0009.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS708.xml

 

Meteorology

Louis J. Battan Papers (MS 682) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/louis-j-battan-papers

Well-known for research on radar meteorology and cloud physics, Dr. Battan was a scientist who worked for the U.S. Air Force in World War Two, the Weather Bureau at the University of Chicago, and finally as a professor and head of the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Arizona. He was an authority on weather modification in both the U.S. and the Soviet Union. This collection contains research, data, publications, manuscripts, and correspondence of Battan's from 1946-1986. Subjects include weather modification, cloud physics, radar meteorology, the Thunderstorm Project, the Arizona Cloud Seeding Project, backscattering experiments, and scientific organizations related to those fields. Papers relating to conferences, meetings, lectures, and committee notes for various weather-related scientific organizations make up a large portion of the collection.

Collection Guide:  http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS682.xml

 

James Rodney Hastings Papers (MS 716) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/james-rodney-hastings-papers

Correspondence, newspaper clippings, articles, unpublished writings, photographs, and documents relating to James Rodney Hasting's life. Covering his academic work, his time as a history teacher, a university meteorology professor, and his brief political career as the mayor of Hastings, along with some of his personal documents, the collection spans 1923-2000, with the bulk of the documents spanning 1954-1974.

Collection Guide:  http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS716.xml

 

National Weather Service Office, Surface Weather Observations at The National Weather Service Office, Tucson International Airport (MS 302) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/national-weather-service-office-surface-weather-observations-national-weather-service

Carbon copy logs of the National Weather Service's hourly surface weather observations. Each month's observations are preceded by local data reports, summarizing the daily observations. Data include temperature, precipitation, wind, sunshine, humidity, pressure, dew point, cloud cover, and visibility.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS302.xml

 

Ornithology

The Papers of Frank Bené (386) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-frank-bene

Frank Bene was born June 11, 1905 in Isaszeg, Hungary and came to the U.S. just over a year later. His family settled in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania where Bené attended grade school and high school. After spending some time out west, he returned to Pennsylvania and graduated with honors from Lehigh University in 1933, and eventually received a Masters degree in Education from the same institution. In June 1933, he was married to Katharine Johnson. Bené worked as an instructor in social studies in the Adult Evening School in Bethlehem for one year and in 1935 was named county supervisor of Americanization in charge of literacy and citizenship for foreign-born residents of Northampton County. For the following four years he taught, published, and worked in the field of citizenship training while pursuing his interest in adult education.

As a result of failing health, Frank Bené moved to Phoenix, Arizona in 1937. It was at this time that a serious interest in ornithology began. Over the next five years, he read, investigated, and wrote a number of articles, particularly short papers for The Condor (1940, 1941, 1945) along with the memoir entitled The Feeding and Related Behavior of Hummingbirds, which won the Walker Prize of the Boston Society of Natural History in 1942.

An improvement in health permitted Frank to teach science for a year in New Jersey. In January, 1943, he returned to Arizona and took a faculty position at Arizona State Teachers College in Tempe, instructing U.S. Army cadets at the Pre-Flight School. However, the inadequately diagnosed tubercular illness Frank suffered from became increasingly acute and he resigned his position in October and died in Phoenix on December 18, 1943.

This collection consists chiefly of biographical materials, photographs, published works, and research materials relating to observations and writings on hummingbirds in Arizona. The collection includes a box of envelopes of photographs and negatives of hummingbirds.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS386.xml

 

Papers of William Davis (MS 375) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-william-davis

Dr. William A. Davis (1908-1999) was an accomplished physician and avid birdwatcher. During World War II, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire for his service and was one of the first outside doctors to witness the conditions in the German concentration camps. After the war, he worked in the Veterans Administration Hospital in Grand Junction, Colorado. In 1972 Dr. Davis was transferred to Tucson, Arizona to set up a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program at the local VA hospital. This life member of the American Ornithologists' Union retired from medicine in 1975 and began his studies of bird distribution. His interest in the interrelationships between birds and their habitats and migration patterns is vividly apparent in his collection of papers.

Dr. Davis was a very active member of the Tucson Audubon Society. In addition to serving as president from 1976-1979, He served as a field trip leader, speaker, committee chairman, newsletter columnist and vice president. He worked with Dr. Stephen Russell, another committed member of the society, on several projects including "Checklist of Birds of Southeastern Arizona" and the first (1979), second (1984) and third (1990) editions of Birds of Southeastern Arizona. Profits from this endeavor have gone exclusively to the Tucson Audubon Society. He died in Tucson at the age of 91.

Series I, Journals (1975-1994), contains the accumulated personal notes, correspondence, photographs and newspaper and magazine clippings from 1975-1994. Series II, Birding (1971-1994), contains bird lists and general notes, clippings and references that reflect his personal interests. Series III, Research (1971-1994), contains notes, clippings and photographs of birds of the United States. Series IV, Publications (1969-1994), contains extensive notes and records on Arizona birds. Series IV, Publications (1969-1994), contains extensive notes and records on Arizona birds. Much of this information is derived from personal research was shared with the Tucson Audubon Society. Field notes, published in the society's newsletter, The Vermillion Flycatcher is one source cited. Birds in Western Colorado by Dr. Davis, published in 1969 is included, as is the first (1979), second (1984) and third (1990) editions of Birds of Southeastern Arizona, coauthored by Stephen M. Russell and published by the Tucson Audubon Society. Series V, Tucson Audubon Society, contains the agendas, committee reports and minutes of the Board of Directors meetings of the society (1983-1985). September 1983 and August 1984 include reference to the publication and sales of Birds of Southeastern Arizona.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS375.xml

Physics

Willis E. Lamb Jr. Papers (MS 636) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/willis-e-lamb-jr-papers

Personal and professional papers of Nobel laureate Willis Lamb including publications, correspondence, research materials, memorabilia and extensive digital assets, mostly on obsolete media relating to a computational physics project.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS636.xml

 

James E. McDonald Papers (MS 412) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/james-e-mcdonald-papers

James E. McDonald (1920-1971) was Associate Director at the University of Arizona's Institute of Atmospheric Physics from 1954 until 1956, and professor until his death in 1971. His areas of research included cloud physics, weather modification, and micrometeorology. He was the author of Physics of Cloud Modification, in the fifth volume of Advances in Geophysics. His scientific interests also led him to contribute writings and testimony to contemporary issues of his time such as the supersonic transport debates, placement of Titan II missiles around the Tucson basin, and scientific dismissal of unidentified flying objects. His hypothesis that UFOs were extraterrestrial instruments on information gathering missions, and his beliefs that current scientific reports, such as the Condon Report, were superficially done, led him to investigate sightings and combat governmental impediments into his research topics.

Papers, 1904-1997 (bulk 1958-1971). Mostly correspondence, cases, reports, interviews, and printed materials relating to James E. McDonald's investigations, 1958 to 1971, into unidentified flying objects and similar sightings, and governmental investigations, responses and reports. Contains photocopies of approximately 580 Project Blue Book sighting reports, mostly by pilots, and some with airborne and ground radar verification. Also includes four handwritten journals, 1958-1971, describing UFO investigative activity; papers and talks, 1966-1977, given before conferences, symposia, and groups; research materials, including his 1967 trip to Australia and New Zealand; a referenced outline of an unpublished book; over 80 audio-tapes of interviews, talks, and conversations on UFO topics; photographic materials on various subjects; and supplemental materials.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS412.xml

The Papers of Pierre LeComte Du Noüy (MS 174) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-pierre-lecomte-du-noüy

Pierre Lecomte du Noüy was a French bio-physicist and philosopher. He was a lieutenant in World War I and joined the Rockefeller Institute in New York. He created the first laboratory of molecular bio-physics in Europe. Heisenberg's theory of indeterminism, as well as the laws of chance, coupled with years of work on living matter by means of physical methods, had convinced him that life and the steady progress of evolution cannot be accounted for by modern physical laws and that materialism can no longer be based on science. In 1944 the University of Lausanne awarded him the Arnold Raymond prize for the most valuable contribution to the philosophy of science. La Dignité Humaine developed some of the ideas in his first two books and stressed moral and spiritual conclusions

Lecomte de Noüy's scientific work can be classed in four principal groups: 1) Cicatrization of wounds--He established the mathematical formula based to calculate beforehand the exact date of cicatrizatiuon. 2) Absorption phenomena of surface tension--The tensiometer enabled him to provide evidence of the existence of monomolecular layers which in turn disclosed three minima in the surface tension of sodium oleate and enabled him to calculate the three dimensions of the molecule. 3) Physico-chemical characteristics of Immunity--The study of thin layers of serum on water led to the discovery of a physico-chemical phenomenon not due to immunization and showed that the serum is constituted of asymmetric prismatic molecules capable of being polarized in monomolecular layers. 4)Experiments made by heating serum at a temperature above 55 degrees Celcius. Showed an increase in surface tension, viscosity, rotatory power, rotatory dispersion, etc. 

This collection includes Scientific manuscripts, lectures, articles and lab manuals relate to Lecomte de Noüy's research in biophysics. His writings, correspondence and articles provide information about Lecomte de Noüy's association with the American USO from 1944-1945. His plays and short stories appear to have been written from 1902-1914. Photographs are of Lecomte, his laboratory, and his family. Some materials are in French.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS174.xml

Solar Energy

Papers Relating To The Conference On the Use of Solar Energy:  The Scientific Basis (AZ 330)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-relating-conference-use-solar-energy-scientific-basis-university-arizona

The Association for Applied Solar Energy (AFASE), an organization created by industrial, financial, and agricultural leaders from Arizona, sponsored a two-part meeting in Arizona to bring attention to the issues of solar energy. The first part of the meeting was the Conference on the Use of Solar Energy: the Scientific Basis, held at the University of Arizona in October of 1955. This was followed by the World Symposium on Applied Solar Energy, held in Phoenix in November of 1955. Scientists and engineers from 36 countries attended these meetings. Additionally, the Solar Furnace Symposium of 1957 was held in Phoenix.

Administrative correspondence and related material regarding the planning and execution of the conference, including participants, registration, guests, program, finances, publicity, exhibits, preprints, and publication of reports and papers. In addition material dealing with the World Symposium on Applied Solar Energy held in Phoenix, Ariz., immediately following the conference, and the Solar Furnace Symposium of 1957, also held in Phoenix.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ330.xml

 

Wildlife Management

Gale Monson Papers (MS 540) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/gale-monson-papers

Collection includes biographical materials, correspondence, journals, publications, research materials, and bird records, relating to his career in wildlife management from 1934-1969.

Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS540.xml

Zoology

The Photographs of Laurence M. Huey (MS 241) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/photographs-laurence-m-huey

Laurence M. Huey (d. 1963) was the Curator of Birds and Mammals for the San Diego Natural History Museum from 1922 to 1962. This collection of photographs was taken during that period of time.

Chiefly black and white photographs taken from 1922-1962 on field trips throughout Arizona, California, and Baja California. Other states are represented in smaller numbers, as are Argentina, Canada, and Costa Rica. The main subjects are birds and mammals in their natural environments, but many photographs also document the field expedition, local inhabitants, notably the Seri Indians, and the vegetation. Typescripts of articles Huey wrote on various topics are also present, as is a monograph he wrote for the Transactions of the San Diego Society of Natural History, titled The Mammals of Baja California, Mexico. Photographs are arranged by geographic location.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS241.xml

 

Richard D. Sparks Gorilla Papers (MS 093) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/richard-d-sparks-gorillas-papers

Richard D. Sparks was the treasurer of Sparks Milling Company, Alton, Illinois, and animal rights advocate for gorillas.

Collection is chiefly correspondence between Richard Sparks and a variety of people, mainly from the 1930s, about the proper treatment of gorillas. Of particular concern is the well-being of Ngagi, Mbongo, and Okere, captured by author Martin Johnson in the Belgian Congo, in 1931. Sparks advocates for their scientific study in a zoo rather than becoming a circus sideshow. Chief correspondents are: Mary L. Jobe Akeley, naturalist associated with the American Museum of Natural History; Belle J. Benchley, manager of the Zoological Society of San Diego; and Harold C. Bingham, psychobiologist in the study of gorilla behavior. Other correspondence, magazine articles, and black-and-white photographs are concerned with Congo, a gorilla brought from the Belgian Congo in 1925 by author Ben Burbridge, and studied by Yale University researcher Robert M. Yerkes. Miscellaneous material relates to Carl Akeley's animal sculptures, Theodore Spicer-Simson's medallic art, and other gorillas in captivity.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS093.xml