Primary Sources on the History of Science

Fratris Basilij Monarchi Benedicter Ordenns Handtgriffe Von Bereitung Seiner Vor (MS 117)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/fratris-basilij-monarchi-benedicter-ordenns-handtgriffe-von-bereitung-seiner-vor

The alchemist Basilius Valentinus, also known as Basil Valentine, was reputed to be a German Benedictine monk, and a prior at St. Peter's in Erfurt in 1414. However, works attributed to him are generally considered to be 17th century forgeries; an individual suggested as the true author is Johannes Thölde of Frankenhausen, Thuringia, the first "editor" of the writings of Valentinus. The works were translated, hand-copied, and published in different languages throughout the 17th and 18th centuries.

Undated, bound compilation of copied writings on alchemy and antimony; the entries are in a number of different hands. The title page has references to two of Valentinus' published books: Triumph-Wagen Antimonii, or Triumphant Chariot of Antimony, originally published in German in 1604, and Latin in 1646; Zwölff Schlüssel, or Twelve Keys, was printed in German in 1599, and Latin in 1618.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS117.xml

Extractus:  Selectissimarum Rerum Chymicarum, Johannis Bapt. Helmontii AB Helmond, Insignis AC Subtilissimi Philosophi Adepti Lectu Utilissmus. (MS 118)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/extractus-selectissimarum-rerum-chymicarum-joannis-bapt-helmontii-ab-helmond-insignis-ac

The 405 extracts, by an unknown compiler, are from the chemical writings of Helmont. The pen-and-ink manuscript is in one hand. It is undated, but the introductory biography section notes Helmont's death date, thus the compilation must be after 1644; perhaps even sometime from the 18th century.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS118.xml

Dr. Bryant Bannister (MS 508)  http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/bryant-bannister-papers

This collection includes the correspondence and administrative files of Dr. Bryant Bannister during his tenure at the Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, University of Arizona, and additional personal files of Dr. Bannister's including, research interests and colleague collaboration, writings and professional papers, thesis and dissertation, conference or business trips, and lecture class notes and syllabi from teaching while at the University of Arizona.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS508.xml

Correspondence of Edward H. Angle (AZ 176) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/correspondence-edward-h-angle

Edward H. Angle was an American dentist and founder of modern orthodontics. Angles dedicated his life to standardizing the teaching and practice of orthodontics. He founded the Angle School of Orthodontia in St. Louis, Missouri in 1900. Charles Harold Tweed, a Phoenix orthodontist, revolutionized the profession of orthodontics’ with a technique involving the use of traction and multiple wiring devices in tooth arrangement.  Letters and telegrams of Edward H. Angle and Ann Hopkins Angle (the 1st lady of orthodontics) to Charles Harold Tweed relating to the practice of orthodontia and to dental legislation in Arizona. Includes biographical data by Bernard L. Fontana and portraits.

Collection Guide  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ176.xml

Ecology (MS 106) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/ecology

Photocopy of typescript by Walter P. Taylor; contains holographic edits and additions by Homer LeRoy Shantz. This work is a comprehensive text on general ecology and contains a substantial bibliography.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS106.xml

The New Vitalism (MS 119) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/new-vitalism

John Burroughs (1837-1921) American naturalist and author. Bound volume of John Burroughs' holographic manuscript, cut-and-pasted with his typed pages of edits; both interleaved with a typed transcription done by John E. Boos in 1942. The manuscript is signed by Burroughs; the preface is signed and dated by Boos. Contains a few illustrations and photographs. A reprint of the published version from the North American Review is bound-in at the end.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS119.xml

Manuscripts of Joseph Wood Krutch (AZ 164) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/manuscripts-joseph-wood-krutch

Joseph Wood Krutch, 1893-1970, was an author, educator, and naturalist. Author of social criticism, critical biographies, and later naturalist essays; retired to Tucson in 1952 and completed several works. The collection includes typescripts, some with holograph corrections, of published manuscripts for The Desert Year, 1952, Voice of the Desert: A Naturalist's Interpretation, 1955, The Great Chain of Life, 1957, Grand Canyon: Today and All Its Yesterdays, 1958, The Forgotten Peninsula: A Naturalist in Baja California, 1961, Herbal, 1965, and the introduction for The Best Nature Writing of Joseph Wood Krutch, 1970. Typescripts of unpublished travel diaries, 1965-1967, concern trips to France, Greece, and Baja California. Also present are printers copies for Great Chain of Life, Forgotten Peninsula, and Grand Canyon; and notes and miscellaneous material related to Herbal.

Collection Guide http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ164.xml

Brian Powell Papers (MS 711)  http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/brian-powell-papers

This collection includes groupings of data collected by Brian Powell and others in relation to the Sonoran Desert Inventory and Monitoring Network. Ecologists working with the Sonoran Desert Inventory and Monitoring Network aim to collect pertinent information on plants, water, air, birds, and climate by making observations at eleven National Park Service units. These inventories, collected by Powell, include information on birds, amphibians and reptiles (identified as 'herps' in the inventories), mammals, and plants at different locations across Arizona.

Collection Guide http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS711.xml

Records of the Tucson Audubon Society (MS 368) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/records-tucson-audubon-society

Series One, Administration, contains correspondence of the officers, board of directors meeting materials, and documents of committees. Series Two, Conservation, consists of case studies and issues of concern. Interactions with other conservation entities are documented in publications and correspondence. Series Three, Education, consists of brochures, planning materials, correspondence, itineraries, postcards and photographs of events. Field trips, Camp of the West, Family Institute and Desert Safari are included with particular emphasis on the Institute of Desert Ecology. Series Four, Organization, contains national, regional, state and chapter materials regarding cooperative efforts and interests. Series Five, Publications, contains their newsletter, The Road-Runner.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS368.xml

Papers Relating to the Basic Concepts Commission of Science (AZ 351)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-relating-basic-concepts-commission-science

Hazel McFeely Fontana was an artist in Tucson, Ariz. Also a member of the Basic Concepts Commission for Science, she was appointed by the Arizona State Dept. of Education to formulate basic concepts for the teaching of science in Arizona public schools, 1972-1973.

Correspondence, minutes of meetings, reports and recommendations by sub-committees and others, clippings, resource materials, and drafts of final guide relating to service as member of the Basic Concepts Commission for Science.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ351.xml

Thomas R. Brown (Burr-Brown) Corporation (MS 635) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/thomas-r-brown-burr-brown-corporation

The Burr-Brown Corporation records contain the business records of the company and the professional papers of founder Thomas R. Brown, Jr. The Burr-Brown Corporation, founded in Tucson, Arizona in 1956, designed, manufactured, and marketed a broad line of integrated circuits used in electronic signal processing until it was sold to Texas Instruments in the year 2000. Formats include documents, notebooks, technical drawings, clippings, printed matter and ephemera, 3D objects, awards, memorabilia, photographs, digital media and numerous audio recordings.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS635.xml

Covered Wood Bridge Spanning Norman’s Kill at French’s Mill (MS 114)

http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/covered-wood-bridge-spanning-normans-kill-frenchs-mill

One of three extant copies of a seven-page typescript report. It describes the covered bridge at French's Mill, N.Y., which was built in 1866. Contains eight mounted and labeled photographs; they depict different views and construction aspects of the bridge, both before and after the roof and side covering was removed. Blueprints drawn by Paulsen, letters, and a newspaper clipping are located in a back pocket.

Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS114.xml

Robert Snedigar Oral History Collection (MS 370) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/robert-snedigar-oral-history-collection

This collection consists one audio recording. Recordings are of interviews with Curt Hoyt and Duane Kline regarding local mining. Testimony of Curt Hoyt includes his early life in Kansas, Wyoming and Oklahoma; reminiscences of Tucson and John and Mrs. Greenway; and Mining in the Olive Camp District. The testimony of Duane Kline includes working for Mogollon Mining Co., Miami, Arizona; his description of the "McDonald Finger Raise" mining method; and a brief history of Mowry Mine read from the USGS bulletin Mineral Deposits of the Santa Rita and Patagonia Mountains.

Collection Guide:  http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS370.xml