Find books - ARC 201 - Design Studio I: Principles - LibGuides at University of Arizona

Your Librarian

Books

Use library search to locate materials that are available from the UA Libraries.

Architecture Books in the UA Libraries
Most architectural books are located on the 5th floor of the Science-Engineering Library and will fall within the NA call number. Be sure to check the book location in the library catalog.

Archives/Special Collections
The UA Libraries have many special collections and archives available to students. While many of the collections' holdings are searchable through the UA library catalog, many have their own separate catalogs or finding aids. See Special Collections.

eBooks

Museum Architecture: A New Biography
Covers key issues in contemporary museum design. Explores the nature of museum architecture and the problems of architectural history when applied to the museum and gallery.
Museum Space: Where Architecture Meets Museology
How does the architecture of museums affect our experience as visitors? This book starts with an overview of the history of museum buildings and display strategies, and a discussion of theoretical and critical approaches. It then focuses on specific museums as in-depth case studies, and uses methods of spatial analysis to look at the key design choices available to architects and curators, and their effects on visitors’ behavior.
The Architecture of Art Museums: A Decade of Design: 2000-2010
This book covers the most important museums built in the first 10 years of the 21st century in the United States and Europe.
A Companion to Museum Studies
Captures the multidisciplinary approach to the study of the development, roles, and significance of museums in contemporary society.
Reshaping Museum Space: Architecture, Design, Exhibitions
This book highlights the complexity and significance of museum space, and studies recent developments in museum architecture and exhibition design.
The Multisensory Museum: Cross-Disciplinary Perspectives on Touch, Sound, Smell, Memory, and Space
Highlights new trends and untapped opportunities for using such modalities as scent, sound, and touch in museums to offer more immersive experiences.
The Architecture of the Illusive Distance
Focusing on libraries, museums, and cinemas, this book explores the intricate interplay between culture and architecture.
The User Perspective on Twenty-First-Century Art Museums
Explains contemporary museums from the whole gamut of user experiences.

Print books in Science-Engineering Library

Museum Architecture
Call Number: NA6690 .H46 1998
Examines the relationship of a museum to its site, context, and collections.
Towards a New Museum
Call Number: NA6695 .N49 2006
Explores the late-20th-century revolution in museum architecture: the transformation from museum as restrained container for art to museum as exuberant companion to art.
Designing the World's Best: Museums and Art Galleries
Call Number: NA6690 .C76 2003
Features photographs and detailed floor plans.
Museum Making: Narratives, Architectures, Exhibitions
Call Number: NA6690 .M8685 2012
Explores the inherently spatial character of narrative in the museum and its potential to connect on the deepest levels with human perception and imagination.
Museum Builders
Call Number: NA6695 .M874 1994
Includes museum projects of architects such as Renzo Piano.
Museum Design: Architecture: Culture: Geographical Environment
Call Number: NA6690 .M86 2015 (Oversize)
Showcases 46 beautifully designed museums from around the world that demonstrate extraordinary architectural creativity.
Renzo Piano Museums
Call Number: NA1123.P47 A4 2007
Presents a portfolio of 18 museum projects.
The Architecture of Museums
Call Number: NA6690 .A74 1997
Features Renzo Piano, Eric van Egeraat, Frank O'Gehry, Mario Botta, Rein Koolhas, and Henry Ciriani.