Responding to COVID-19: Weaver Library is open Sunday through Thursday 9am-9pm, and Friday and Saturday 9am-5pm. You can also contact us by chat, text, and email during those hours. We’re providing limited services in the Main Library lobby. The Health Sciences Library is open to Health Sciences affiliates.Learn more about access during COVID-19.
The Encyclopedia of Applied Animal Behaviour and Welfare
"...The practical focus of this authoritative, comprehensive encyclopedia aims to promote the understanding and improvement of animals' behaviour without compromising welfare. Under the editorial direction of Professor Daniel Mills, the UK's first specialist in veterinary behavioural medicine, over 180 international experts have contributed a wealth of fully cross-referenced entries from concise definitions to detailed short essays on biological, practical, clinical and ethical aspects of behaviour and welfare in domestic, exotic, companion and zoo animals."
Deals with all aspects of farm animal nutrition, including physiology, biochemistry, veterinary medicine and feed technology. Covers every type of farm animal found in both developing and developed countries.
Features information on the history, characteristics, qualities and traits of 138 endangered livestock breeds and 53 poultry breeds. Covers where these breeds may be seen today and the degree of rarity of each breed in the USA, UK and Canada.
Covers all important aspects of meat science from stable to table, including animal breeding, physiology and slaughter, meat preparation, packaging, welfare, food safety,food microbiology, meat in human nutrition, and biotechnological advances in breeding.
This book describes the structure of the animal body and the way in which it works. Animals encountered in normal veterinary practice are used as examples where possible. (Licensed CC BY-NC-SA. See https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/.)
This book provides an overview of the current debates about the nature and extent of our moral obligations to animals. Which, if any, uses of animals are morally wrong, which are morally permissible (i.e., not wrong) and why? What, if any, moral obligations do we, individually and as a society (and a global community), have towards animals and why? How should animals be treated? Why? We will explore the most influential and most developed answers to these questions – given by philosophers, scientists, and animal advocates and their critics – to try to determine which positions are supported by the best moral reasons.
The Atlas of Comparative Anatomy began as a class project at SUNY Oneonta in 2017 because of the lack of a comprehensive freely-accessible photographic atlas. The majority of entries in this atlas were produced by students including dissection, photography, and identification. It is a work in progress, but we hope that students of anatomy find this a useful tool for studying anatomy outside of the lab. The project's description, printable PDF, and link to the online version are here.
These materials have been put together to help students and youth to learn the basics of judging and evaluating dairy cattle using various methods. This resource was designed to be used with other resources to help teach basic dairy cattle judging and evaluation. There are numerous 4-H, Cooperative Extension and Breed Association booklets freely available, referred to in the document. However, this resource differs as it is intentionally full of visual examples and videos. The objective is to provide educators with additional resources to help beginning cattle judges understand visual evaluation and comparative judging techniques, as well as breed standards, linear scoring, oral reasons and the basics of fitting and showmanship.
This textbook includes basic principles of large animal surgery and anesthesia, how to apply those principles to cases and situations, and discover ways of finding answers when you don’t remember the information, are presented with cases that aren’t “textbook” and/or things don’t go as planned.
This interactive e-book is meant to be a review of the pharmacology course taught by Dr. Brown in the previous years of the veterinary curriculum. Each chapter covers an antibiotic family and follows the same structure: Background and useful molecules to know in swine medicine, Mechanism of action, Spectrum, Absorption, Distribution, Elimination, Adverse effects, and Synergies.
This e-book was written to serve as a support for the teaching of the course CVM 6969: Large Animal Medicine III at the University of Minnesota. Its structure follows the organization of the course sessions and may be confusing for an external audience.
The purpose of this textbook is to provide an introductory, yet comprehensive, source of information on epidemiology for veterinary students, researchers, and practitioners. There has not been a textbook that presents analytic epidemiology as a science, basic to veterinary medicine's efforts in health management (herd health) as well as in clinical medicine.
Veterinary Histology is a microscopic anatomy textbook focused on domestic species, including the dog, cat, cattle, horses, swine, and camelids. This digital textbook provides comprehensive, system-specific text as well as high-resolution, annotated images along with chapter-specific glossary of terms and learning objectives.
Help for thriving in veterinary school. Academic, financial, physical, and emotional stress or health issues often create hurdles in the path toward the DVM. Sudden developments in our personal lives may threaten happiness, success, and/or well-being. This handbook is designed as a resource to help maintain or restore a sense of well-being.