LibGuides: Africana Studies: Get started

Encyclopedias & handbooks

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.

The African American Encyclopedia by R. Kent Rasmussen; Barbara Bair (Editor); Carl L. Bankston (Editor); David Bradley (Editor); Shelley Fisher Fishkin (Editor); Wendy Sacket (Editor)
Call Number: E185 .A253 2001

Examines all aspects of the African American experience, from African history and its influences, to the enduring legacy of African Americans' individual sacrifices and triumphs.
Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience by Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
Call Number: DT14 .A37435 2005

Over 4,000 articles covering a range of topics including: prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries throughout the globe.
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895
Call Number: E185 .E545 2006

Encyclopedia that covers the time period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass.
The African American almanac by Brigham Narins, editor
Provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture. Includes coverage of such topics as: Africa and the Black diaspora; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; and sports.
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history: the Black experience in the Americas by Colin A. Palmer, editor in chief
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.