Books and eBooks
Basic and Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research. The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed. Features: * Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods * Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues * Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package * Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI * Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model * Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout
Call Number: WA 950 W588b 2020ISBN: 9781260455366Publication Date: 2020
Medical Writing by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Call Number: WZ 345 T245m 2018ISBN: 9783319701257Publication Date: 2018-01-09
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: a Quick Reference Guide by
Concise, readable, and easy to navigate--a practical and thorough guide to conducting efficient and effective medical research A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Whether you're a student, scholar, faculty member, or practicing healthcare professional Research Methodology in the Health Sciences helps you improve your research skills and critically appraise original research and apply it in evidence-based patient care. This peerless guide describes the principles of biostatistics and provides detailed examples to build your comprehension of the utility and applicability of bio-statistical tests, without going into the mathematical details of such tests. You'll find accessible coverage of the principles of biomedical ethics in research and publication, review of the medical literature, how to write a dissertation, how to prepare and submit a research manuscript for publication in a journal, how to apply for a research grant to funding agencies, and much more. To enhance the learning process, all examples drawn exclusively from real healthcare scenarios. Research Methodology in the Health Sciences covers: Planning a research study Writing a dissertation Types of studies in clinical research Observational and interventional studies Approaches to qualitative research Ethics in medical research Biostatistics and descriptive statistics Approaches to statistical inference
ISBN: 9781260463286Publication Date: 2021-03-09
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences by
Now in its 7th edition this textbook is a must have for any health professional student. It provides a comprehensive overview of health research, in a concise and easy to read format using examples directly related to the health sciences. It helps students understand health research models, and how research goes on to inform and improve evidence-based clinical practice. For practitioners it provides guidance on published research in journals, providing an essential tool to keep their practice evidence based. Uses simple language and demystifies research jargon Covers both quantitative and qualitative research methodology, taking a very practical approach Provides an extensive glossary for better understanding of the language of research Fully updated online interactive self-assessment tests including MCQs, true or false questions and short answer questions.
ISBN: 9780702074936Publication Date: 2019-11-11
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
ISBN: 1119536650Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Getting Started
Start at Arizona Health Science Library website to access library resources https://lib.arizona.edu/hsl
When you are off-campus you are prompted to authenticate with your NetID and password to access databases.
To obtain your NetID, recover a forgotten NetID, or password: Visit https://it.arizona.edu/service/netid-accounts for self-service options or call University of Arizona/Tucson UITS 24/7 technical support line: (520) 626-TECH (8324)
Need Help? Contact Your Librarian
The Scholarly Project (SP) Course represents a four-year mentored research project for each student. The SP prepares students for lifelong learning and critical thinking. Through the SP, students develop advanced inquiry and problem-solving skills to support clinical practice and future research endeavors throughout their careers. The SP curriculum is most intense in the first-year and second year during which the students are exposed to issues that relate to information literacy, research methodology, ethical behavior in research, statistics and research proposal and grant writing. Students choose areas they wish to investigate, design a research hypothesis and find a mentor. By the end the first year each students are expected to have his/her project designed and approved and to have selected a mentor who will guide and oversee the progress of the project. The UA Repository contains posters and projects presented at the annual Scholarly Project Research Symposium.
- UA COM-P Scholarly Projects
View past scholarly projects in UA Campus Repository
Scholarly Projects Office COM-P
- Scholarly Projects Officecontact SP staff with questions about IRB, statistical analysis, funding, and mentoring.
Virtual Computing Access Technology
- VCAT (Virtual Computing Access Technology)VCAT (Virtual Computing Access Technology) is a virtual computing system for students and faculty that is accessible from anywhere with a broadband internet connection. You will find much of the same software that is installed in UA libraries’s physical computer labs, as well as any that may be provided by your academic department.
Submitting Your Scholarly Project
Why Submit Your Work to the UA Campus Repository?
Fourth year medical students are encouraged to submit their final scholarly project poster and paper to the University of Arizona campus repository. There are many benefits to submitting your work to the University of Arizona campus repository. However, if you are publishing in an academic journal, please reach out to your UA COM-P Librarian for clarification on copyright. The information below shows the value of adding your work.
Visibility
Submitting your scholarly project to the UA Campus Repository helps to increase your visibility as a researcher and your scholarly profile. Your work is available worldwide through online searches which can connect you with researchers worldwide.
Citations and Copyright
The URL of your work can be immediately shared and cited. The citation of your project can be used as evidence of your scholarly project. Submitting your work to the repository can help others learn about your scholarly project and give future COM-P students ideas for their research.
Open Access
When you submit your scholarly project, your work is available open access. This allows researchers from around the world to access your work, and contributes to global knowledge. Open Access promotes global knowledge sharing and aligns with the university's mission.
Reasons to not include your Scholarly Project in the UA Campus Repository
In some instances, you may choose to not submit your project. If you have any questions about possible submission conflicts, please reach out to the UA COM-P librarians. The following are some reasons why you might choose to not release your project:
- Commercial applications/ramifications
- Contains sensitive data
- Contains work that is still in copyright
- Based on research data that will support other publications from your research teams.
- In rare situations, publishers have declined a contract to publish work that has been deposited in an institutional repository.