LibGuides: History—Women's: Find primary sources

Find primary sources

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Find letters and diaries of British and Irish women, biographies, and an extensive annotated bibliography, from 1500-1950.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Find British and European primary source materials on topics related to gender.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
Find primary sources on women's history, spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. Collection contains publications from the U.S., Canada, New Zealand, and Europe.

ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Discover digitized primary source materials, including letters, papers, government documents, oral histories, and much more, covering various topics and periods in U.S. history.
Note: Click on Browse on upper left to view a list of the collections available at UA. Collections include:
Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990
Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College, Series 1: Woman's Suffrage, Part A: National Leaders
Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College, Series 1: Woman's Suffrage, Part E: The Midwest and Far West
Note: Click on Browse on upper left to view a list of the collections available at UA.
History Vault Accessibility Statement
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 This link opens in a new window
Large collection of women's diaries and correspondence, from colonial times to 1950.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700 This link opens in a new window
Find primary sources of women's writing in the British Isles from 1500-1700.

Redstockings Women's Liberation Archives for Action
Find selected digitized materials from this archive. Access requires a free account.
Women and the National Experience: Primary Sources in American History
Read over a hundred different primary sources that describe the history of women in the United States.

Women and Social Movements International, 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Find texts by women activists, 1840-present.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Find primary and secondary materials about the history of women in social movements.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement

Women's History Microforms
Listing of microfilm collections of primary documents related to Women's History at the University of Arizona Libraries.
Women's Issues and Their Advocacy in the White House, 1974-1977
Find documents from the Ford Administration's Office of Women’s Programs' liaison activities with hundreds of women’s organizations. Topics include public policy, legislation and regulation of women’s civil rights. Documents include meeting minutes, correspondence, speeches, reports, regulations, press releases, and more.

Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Find texts by women writers, 1400-1850.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

History—Women's

Your Librarian

Find primary sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

History—Women's

Your Librarian

Find primary sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect