Teaching with Primary Sources Workshop

In this workshop, you will:

• Discover digital primary sources available in different disciplines. Find newspapers, documents, photographs, letters, maps, and much more!
• Learn about approaches, activities, and assignments for teaching with primary sources.

• Students are introduced to archivists/librarians and archival spaces
• Students gain positive experiences in navigating archival spaces
• Students gain hands on experience using primary sources
• Students gain critical thinking skills through hands on experience
• Guidelines for Primary Source Literacy (Society of American Archivists)

What are digitized primary sources?

Some primary sources found in libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions have been digitized. There are still many more primary sources only available in physical formats.

What types of primary sources are available in digital collections?

All types!

Where can you find digitized primary sources?

• Primary source databases - The University of Arizona Libraries provides access to almost many digitized collections of primary sources that we have purchased or to which we subscribe. These collections span many time periods, topics, and types of primary sources. 
• Primary sources are also linked on some of our library guides. For example, see the History subject guides and select Find primary sources on each guide.   
• There are also open access digitized archives. Some examples include:
  • Library of Congress Digital Collections
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets
  • Europeana

The University of Arizona Libraries Special Collections provides primary research materials encompassing eight collecting areas: Arizona & the Southwest, Arizona Queer Archives, US-Mexico Borderlands, Literature, Political Affairs, Performing Arts, History of Science, and University of Arizona History.

• Special Collections digitized collections

Other local repositories:

• Center for Creative Photography
• Arizona State Museum
• Arizona Historical Society

Liaison librarians and archivists can collaborate with you on teaching with primary sources!  

• Consult about what materials are available in our collections (both physical and digital), as well as help you identify other open source digitized primary source collections. 
• Create research assignments that engage students with primary sources.
• Provide library research instruction.
• Prepare course guides that incorporate primary sources. 

Collaborating with Special Collections

• Contact Special Collections as soon as possible. More time to plan allows for better sessions with students.
• Build relationships with staff who may align with your teaching or research areas
• Think about integrating Special Collections into multiple class sessions
• What skills do you want students to learn by visiting Special Collections?
  • Primary source introductions
  • Archival literacy sessions
  • Specific course research
• Special Collections instruction request form

There are some openly-available document analysis tools available that you can use and adapt for your teaching: