LibGuides: Retailing & Consumer Science : Advertising & Market Research

Consumer and market research

American Satisfaction Consumer Index
The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.

Bizminer

Access granular industry statistical reports. Includes industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.

Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.

Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS.gov)
Data is collected by the U.S. Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics through an Interview Survey and Diary Survey.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Create lists of consumers by geographic and demographic characteristics.
Euromonitor's Passport GMID
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.

Market Share Reporter
Market Share Reporter is available in the Gale Business: Insights database, and features market share reports for brand-name products and companies. Use the "Search Within" option on the right-side of the search results to search by company, brand name, keyword, or NAICS code. Market share is shown as a percent of total industry or product sales for a specific period.

MarketResearch.com Academic
Reports from several market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing and other markets and industries.
Mintel Academic Market Research
For consumer behavior and market reports, use the search bar and filters found on the main page. Use the Category filter for selecting a specific product line, service, or sector. Use the Content Types results filter to find Reports (most comprehensive). Covers US markets with limited new coverage of select UK, Canada and Latin American markets. To download reports and charts, create a login with your UA email following the instructions in this guide.

Pew Research Center
Browse datasets and surveys, including Roper iPoll surveys, religious landscapes, political typology, and more.

PitchBook
Explore data and research under the Market Analysis section, such as Emerging Spaces and Market Size Estimates. Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database. For problems logging into an existing account, visit arizona.pitchbook.com, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password. Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.
On June 30, 2025, all UA Pitchbook users will be disabled by the vendor - to access the PitchBook Platform again, users will need to create a new account while on-campus/at Tech Launch.
URL for on-campus/at Tech Launch: https://arizona.pitchbook.com/ Once your new account is created, you should be able to access Pitchbook while off-campus too using the off-campus link: https://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login?url=https://arizona.pitchbook.com
==
URL for off-campus access: https://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login?url=https://arizona.pitchbook.com
URL for on-campus/at Tech Launch: https://arizona.pitchbook.com/
==
For problems logging in or resetting your password, contact PitchBook Support: support@pitchbook.com

Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
- Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
- Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
- University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.
PolicyMap

Use this GIS mapping tool and data analysis platform to find U.S. data related to demographics, economics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal income-eligible areas, money and income, education, health and more. Now includes Claritas Prizm market segmentation data! Great for understanding who and where your market is. Find under Curated Collections.
Data can be viewed by census block or tract in many cases, and city, county, zip code, state as well as congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts.
PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts, and reports. Unlimited address-based data can be uploaded for use in PolicyMap.
To access:
1. Click ‘Open Map’ in the top right of the PolicyMap platform.
2. Search for "University or Arizona" in the ‘Institution or Organization name’ search box.
3. Click purple button: ‘Go to PolicyMap for University of Arizona.’
4. When the map loads, you should see “University of Arizona” in the top right.
PsycINFO

Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Statista
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors. Check out the Insights tab for Market and Consumer Insights.
WGSN Fashion Trend Forecasting & Analysis

Find research and analysis on the fashion design industry, including emerging trends, forecasts, reports, and images. Search by market, season, product type, and more. WGSN also provides design resources like 2D & 3D CAD files and a Coloro color system library.

Use UA's proxied link above to browse WGSN and access content within UA's subscription.
Interested in creating a WGSN account? Use this proxied link to create a WGSN account.
Once a WGSN account is created, log in via an unproxied link directly at: https://www.wgsn.com/mywgsn

RKMA Market Research Handbooks
Find select handbooks published by Richard K. Miller & Associates that provide overviews and key trends and challenges affecting markets like retail, e-commerce, sports marketing, and media, plus handbooks that focus on specific topics like consumer behavior and demographics.

Consumer survey data

These resources provide survey data on consumer behavior and preferences, including demographics, lifestyles, opinions, shopping habits, and more. Pay attention to the survey source (who created, disseminated, and analyzed the survey), survey collection dates, sample size, and sample demographics (e.g., adults aged 18 to 24 in the United States, adults aged 18+ who own a car, etc.).

Consider what kind of data you need. Some databases allow you to create crosstabs to better combine certain questions, answers, and demographics to tell a story.

Euromonitor's Passport GMID
Open the Consumers tab to research lifestyles, income & expenditures, households, and population demographics. For survey questions, select Lifestyles from the Consumers menu and click on the Lifestyles consumer survey dashboard. For consumer profiles by country, click on any Consumers subcategory. In the Latest Reports box, click on View All and use filters to find the country you are researching.
Mintel Academic Market Research
For survey data, click on the Analytics tab at the top of the page or open any report's Databook (last option in a report's Table of Contents). Use filters to narrow the scope of the survey (e.g., travel). Open a survey to view specific questions. Use the menu on the left to navigate to survey demographics and pre-created crosstabs. To download reports and charts, create a login with your UA email following the instructions in this guide.
MRI Simmons Catalyst
Click on Analytics and then CrossTab for survey dashboard. Simmons OneView combines the trusted syndicated and custom research from Experian Simmons with powerful analytic tools and reports to provide marketers with vivid consumer insights via an intuitive online platform. NOTE: Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Statista
For survey questions, go to the Insights tab and access Consumer Insights. Use this tool to analyze consumer preferences, behaviors, and demographics based on answers to survey questions -- great for identifying your target market or market size. Watch this 7-min. video tutorial to learn how to use this tool and interpret the data.

Marketing campaigns and advertising

WARC.com
New! WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) is a database primarily focusing on reviewing marketing campaigns and efforts. It contains marketing analyses, case studies, marketing strategy training, video content, and award information.
Winmo
In addition to data on companies (ad spend, media types, brands) and advertising agencies, explore the Creative Library (off the main menu) to search an archive of brand and public ads in a variety of formats.
SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service
Useful tool for building a marketing mix strategy. Find ad rates for more than 100,000 U.S. and international media outlets (direct marketing, websites, newspapers, etc.). Try searching for a media outlet (e.g. Arizona Daily Star) to view the details on subscription counts and ad rates. You can also browse for media based on parameters. The DEI tab allows you to filter by target audience to better reach marginalized or underrepresented populations.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Can help with creating marketing plans, calculating market size, conducting competitive analysis, and raising funds. It also acts as a directory for businesses and consumers.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Retailing & Consumer Science

Consumer and market research

Consumer survey data

Marketing campaigns and advertising

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Retailing & Consumer Science

Consumer and market research

Consumer survey data

Marketing campaigns and advertising

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect