Optional Course Readings

If you need additional information on a subject covered in lecture or need a reference for one of the course assignments, use one or more of these optional books.

Biotechnology This general biotechnology textbook has several useful chapters.
Downstream Industrial Biotechnology: Recovery and Purification DOWNSTREAM INDUSTRIAL BIOTECHNOLOGY An affordable, easily accessible desk reference on biomanufacturing, focused on downstream recovery and purification Advances in the fundamental knowledge surrounding biotechnology, novel materials, and advanced engineering approaches continue to be translated into bioprocesses that bring new products to market at a significantly faster pace than most other industries. Industrial scale biotechnology and new manufacturing methods are revolutionizing medicine, environmental monitoring and remediation, consumer products, food production, agriculture, and forestry, and continue to be a major area of research. The downstream stage in industrial biotechnology refers to recovery, isolation, and purification of the microbial products from cell debris, processing medium and contaminating biomolecules from the upstream process into a finished product such as biopharmaceuticals and vaccines. Downstream process design has the greatest impact on overall biomanufacturing cost because not only does the biochemistry of different products ( e.g., peptides, proteins, hormones, antibiotics, and complex antigens) dictate different methods for the isolation and purification of these products, but contaminating byproducts can also reduce overall process yield, and may have serious consequences on clinical safety and efficacy. Therefore downstream separation scientists and engineers are continually seeking to eliminate, or combine, unit operations to minimize the number of process steps in order to maximize product recovery at a specified concentration and purity. Based on Wiley's Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology: Bioprocess, Bioseparation, and Cell Technology, this volume features fifty articles that provide information on down- stream recovery of cells and protein capture; process development and facility design; equipment; PAT in downstream processes; downstream cGMP operations; and regulatory compliance. It covers: Cell wall disruption and lysis Cell recovery by centrifugation and filtration Large-scale protein chromatography Scale down of biopharmaceutical purification operations Lipopolysaccharide removal Porous media in biotechnology Equipment used in industrial protein purification Affinity chromatography Antibody purification, monoclonal and polyclonal Protein aggregation, precipitation and crystallization Freeze-drying of biopharmaceuticals Biopharmaceutical facility design and validation Pharmaceutical bioburden testing Regulatory requirements Ideal for graduate and advanced undergraduate courses on biomanufacturing, biochemical engineering, biopharmaceutical facility design, biochemistry, industrial microbiology, gene expression technology, and cell culture technology, Downstream Industrial Biotechnology is also a highly recommended resource for industry professionals and libraries.
Fundamental Bioengineering A thorough introduction to the basics of bioengineering, with a focus on applications in the emerging "white" biotechnology industry. As such, this latest volume in the "Advanced Biotechnology" series covers the principles for the design and analysis of industrial bioprocesses as well as the design of bioremediation systems, and several biomedical applications. No fewer than seven chapters introduce stoichiometry, kinetics, thermodynamics and the design of ideal and real bioreactors, illustrated by more than 50 practical examples. Further chapters deal with the tools that enable an understanding of the behavior of cell cultures and enzymatically catalyzed reactions, while others discuss the analysis of cultures at the level of the cell, as well as structural frameworks for the successful scale-up of bioreactions. In addition, a short survey of downstream processing options and the control of bioreactions is given. With contributions from leading experts in industry and academia, this is a comprehensive source of information peer-reviewed by experts in the field.
Industrial Biotechnology - Microorganisms The latest volume in the Advanced Biotechnology series provides an overview of the main production hosts and platform organisms used today as well as promising future cell factories in a two volume book. Alongside describing tools for genetic and metabolic engineering for strain improvement, the authors also impart topical information on computational tools, safety aspects and industrial-scale production. Following an introduction to general concepts, historical developments and future technologies, the text goes on to cover multi-purpose bacterial cell factories, including those organisms that exploit anaerobic biosynthetic power. Further chapters deal with microbes used for the production of high-value natural compounds and those obtained from alternative raw material sources, concluding with eukaryotic workhorses.
Industrial Biotechnology: Products and Processes The latest volume in the Advanced Biotechnology series provides an overview of the main product classes and platform chemicals produced by biotechnological processes today, with applications in the food, healthcare and fine chemical industries. Alongside the production of drugs and flavors as well as amino acids, bio-based monomers and polymers and biofuels, basic insights are also given as to the biotechnological processes yielding such products and how large-scale production may be enabled and improved. Of interest to biotechnologists, bio and chemical engineers, as well as those working in the biotechnological, chemical, and food industries.

Microbiology This textbook could be useful if your microbiology knowledge is limited or 'rusty'.

Synthetic Biology: Parts, Devices and Applications A review of the interdisciplinary field of synthetic biology, from genome design to spatial engineering. Written by an international panel of experts, Synthetic Biology draws from various areas of research in biology and engineering and explores the current applications to provide an authoritative overview of this burgeoning field. The text reviews the synthesis of DNA and genome engineering and offers a discussion of the parts and devices that control protein expression and activity. The authors include information on the devices that support spatial engineering, RNA switches and explore the early applications of synthetic biology in protein synthesis, generation of pathway libraries, and immunotherapy. Filled with the most recent research, compelling discussions, and unique perspectives, Synthetic Biology offers an important resource for understanding how this new branch of science can improve on applications for industry or biological research.
Upstream Industrial Biotechnology Biotechnology represents a major area of research focus, and many universities are developing academic programs in the field. This guide to biomanufacturing contains carefully selected articles from Wiley's Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology, Bioprocess, Bioseparation, and Cell Technology as well as new articles (80 in all,) and features the same breadth and quality of coverage and clarity of presentation found in the original. For instructors, advanced students, and those involved in regulatory compliance, this two-volume desk reference offers an accessible and comprehensive resource.