LibGuides: History—Modern European (mid-1700's to present): Find primary sources

Digitized primary source collections

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Find letters and diaries of British and Irish women, biographies, and an extensive annotated bibliography, from 1500-1950.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement

British History Online
Find digitized primary sources on the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800.

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Find digitized British periodicals published from the seventeenth century through the twentieth century.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
Find thousands of expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents covering British history from 500-1914.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Find full-text English-language and foreign-language titles covering multiple disciplines printed in Great Britain from 1701 to 1800.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions

Europeana
Find millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections, including books and manuscripts, newspapers, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.

Making of the Modern World Part I: The Goldsmiths' - Kress Collection, 1450-1850 This link opens in a new window
Find unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, Western world through the lens of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Documents from the period 1450-1914.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions

Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Find primary source collections from the 19th century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics.
To select a specific archive use the drop-down on the left side of the search form.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Find full text of government documents, including bills and committee reports, of the British House of Commons and House of Lords, 18th century to present.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers Accessibility Statement
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Search for books, articles, audio, video, archival collections, and digital materials from libraries around the world.
A free version of Worldcat is at worldcat.org

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

History—Modern European (mid-1700's to present)