LibGuides: History—Middle Eastern: Find primary sources

Find primary sources

Kotobarabia Arabic e-Library This link opens in a new window
Find early works from important Arab writers in a variety of disciplines, from feminism and social theory, to the classics of literature, history, and the sciences. Includes works by the Four Imams of the Sunni Sect, the Al Azhar Modern Sheikhs, various authors of the Modern Arab Enlightenment, and rare works by the former Egyptian royal family.
To view the Arabic fonts used by this database you may need to enable Arabic Language support on your computer. Instructions can be found on the home page of the database.
Jerusalem Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1932-1988.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
Search newspapers published in the Middle Eastern and North African region from the late 19th- through the mid-20th centuries.
Middle Eastern Materials-CRL Library
Find information about the Center for Research Libraries' Middle Eastern materials, which may be borrowed by UA researchers.
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
Find information and links to newspaper digitization projects from around the world.
Afghanistan Digital Collections
Find unique collection of documents related to Afghanistan history, culture, and its development. Most documents are in English or the principal languages of Pashto and Dari. Includes two newspapers: Anis and Kabul Times.
Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library
AMEEL is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. Within this portal, Yale University Library integrates existing scholarly digital content with newly digitized resources to make such materials easier to find and use efficiently and freely. Currently, AMEEL holds approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts. The full text in AMEEL has been extracted using Optical Character Recognition software (OCR) rather than re-keying all works. Our digitization team aimed for accuracy rates of higher than 90% when converting modern Arabic text.

Confidential print. Middle East, 1839-1969
Find documents of the Foreign and Colonial Offices and sourced from the National Archives, UK.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Find primary source materials (including letters, minutes, reports and maps) from the British National Archives, the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through 1970.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions

Records of the Persian Gulf War
Find materials sourced from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in 1990.
U.S. and Iraqi relations: U.S. technical aid, 1950-1958
Find documents and records from the National Archives.

Foreign Office files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia for the period between 1972 and 1980. The documents, from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera.

U.S. Middle East peace policy and America's role in the Middle East peace process, 1989-1993
Find records from the George H W Bush Presidential Library, including letters of correspondence, memoranda, reports from Congress, and more, regarding American Middle East peace policy..