LibGuides: HIST 498: Capstone-Riots & Uprisings in the U.S. (Fall 2024): Library research guide

Find secondary sources

Books:

Library Search
Search for books, articles, videos, and other UA library resources.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Find citations for books, journals, audio, video, and other digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world.
A free version of Worldcat is at worldcat.org

Scholarly journal articles:

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering historical research of the United States and Canada from 1964 to the present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.

JSTOR screen reader instructions

Cite sources

Find details about how to cite books, journal articles, and other sources in Chicago style. Chapter 14 covers Notes and Bibliography, including specific instructions for citing photographs, maps, films, and other materials, published and unpublished, physical items or found online.

Find primary sources

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized African American newspapers from more than 35 states.
Alexander Street This link opens in a new window
Find and search across multiple collections of primary source materials, images, ephemera, secondary works, and documentaries, in a variety of subject areas.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement
Public performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).

America's Historical Imprints
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera of early American history.
American History in Video
Find videos on American historical events including newsreels, documentaries, interviews from Pre-Columbian America to present.

American Prison Newspapers, 1800 - 2020 This link opens in a new window
Find hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years.
Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Find full text and page images of the Chicago Defender, which became the most influential black newspaper in the US within its first 10 years. Online archive covers 1909-2010.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Find fully digitized U.S. historical newspapers through 1963 from the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program.

Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Find videos, photographs and textual materials documenting the American Civil Rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s. May contain content that is sensitive, potentially harmful or difficult to view.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Digital Editions, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Find a wide variety of early American published materials from 1639 to 1800. Includes the Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.

The Freedom Archives
Find documents, audio, video, and other primary sources from the late-1960s to the mid-1990s, primarily about movements in the Bay Area but also covering other areas and events.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Find hundreds of fully digitized Spanish-language and bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the United States from 1808-1980. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" directed by Professor Nicolas Kanellos.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Find full images and full text of the Los Angeles Times (1881-1994). For later issues, see the Los Angeles Times (1985 - present)
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
For later issues, see the Los Angeles Times (1985 - present)
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Discover primary source materials including letters, papers, government documents, oral histories, and much more, covering various topics and periods in U.S. history.
Note: Click on Browse on upper left to view a list of the collections available at UA.
History Vault Accessibility Statement
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Find digitized newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press from the 20th century.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Find millions of digitized primary sources from the Library of Congress' vast collections.

Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search PDF scans of articles and advertisements in the Los Angeles Sentinel from 1934-2010.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers This link opens in a new window
Find primary source materials from the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on civil rights, free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, and U.S. Supreme Court cases.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Find legal sources like cases, statutes, and regulations, including state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This link opens in a new window
Find court cases, law and government documents, rehabilitation training materials, and other materials related to historical and contemporary events in the history of incarceration in the U.S. and globally.

Alexander Street Accessibility Statement

National Archives - Access to Archival Databases
Find materials from the National Archives in categories such as immigration, labor unions, and government sources.
National Library of Medicine - History of Medicine
Discover manuscripts, films, photographs, and other materials from the National Library of Medicine archives.

New York Amsterdam News (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Find full pages images of New York Amsterdam News from 1922-2010.
The New York Amsterdam News was previously published under the titles New York Amsterdam Star-News and New York Star & Amsterdam News.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Find the full archive of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 through 2020.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Find Congressional reports, bills, hearings, committee prints, serial set maps, and other documents.
ProQuest Congressional Accessibility Statement
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Find abstracts of evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, PBS, & FOX News, special news reports, coverage of political conventions, Presidential press conferences, State of the Union Addresses, and more. Includes some online streaming video content.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Find primary and secondary materials about the history of women in social movements.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

HIST 498: Capstone-Riots & Uprisings in the U.S. (Fall 2024): Library research guide

Find secondary sources

Cite sources

Contact

Find primary sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

HIST 498: Capstone-Riots & Uprisings in the U.S. (Fall 2024): Library research guide

Find secondary sources

Cite sources

Contact

Find primary sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect